Selectors 'trying to give everybody a run' May 2, 2006

West Indies make three changes to one-day team

West Indies announced three changes and increased their squad by one to 14 for the next two matches in the series of seven one-day internationals against Zimbabwe.

Left-handed opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon of Guyana was called up for the first time and fast bowler Tino Best and left-arm wrist spinner Dave Mohammed recalled in an obvious move to look at as many players as possible against the under-strength Zimbabweans before the tougher series of five matches against India starting on May 18. Allrounder Dwayne Bravo and left-arm seam bowler Ian Bradshaw, who played in the first two matches in Antigua last weekend, were omitted.

Captain Brian Lara hinted at a policy of experimentation after the Antigua double-header, both won by the West Indies, by five wickets and 98 runs, respectively. "We are trying to give everybody a run," he said. Lara hinted that fast bowler Jerome Taylor, who won the Man-of-the-Match awards on both days, would be rested for the two matches in Guyana. "He bowled well on the weekend and we would like to see other players get the opportunity."

Chattergoon, 25, earned his place after consistent form for West Indies A in the home series against England A in February and March. He scored 107 in the second four-day match and 81 in the first one-day match before he was sidelined by injury.

Best, who has played 12 Tests and ten ODIs, is rated as one of West Indies' fastest bowlers.

Mohammed returns to international cricket following a break of two years after taking 45 wickets for Trinidad and Tobago, the most in the recent regional Carib Beer tournament, in which T&T were crowned double champions, winning the Cup and Challenge final.

West Indies squad Brian Lara (captain), Chris Gayle, Runako Morton, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Corey Collymore, Fidel Edwards, Jerome Taylor, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Tino Best, Dave Mohammed.