Australia women in New Zealand 2007-08 February 26, 2008

Australia axe Britt and Bulow

Cricinfo staff

Kris Britt and Melissa Bulow have been dropped from Australia's 14-player squad as the side bid to retain the Rose Bowl in New Zealand next month. After a drawn one-day international series and a Test loss against England, selectors have made two changes, with Western Australia's Renee Chappell and Queensland's Delissa Kimmince set to earn their first international caps.

Jodie Purves has also regained her place and has been selected in the 14-player squad as a specialist batter after a broken thumb forced her to miss the series against England. Leonie Coleman will continue the keeping role.

Australia is the current holder of the Rose Bowl having won last year's series 3-2. The series comprises five one-day matches, with a Twenty20 international to be played in the lead-up. All matches will be played at Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Christchurch.

Chair of selectors Margaret Jennings said: "The Rose Bowl Series provides us with an opportunity to bring in new players and see what they can add to the squad in the lead-up to the World Cup next year. Both Delissa and Renee have been selected to fill positions we feel need improving.

"The players excluded from the squad are not out of World Cup calculations by any means but they will need to go away and work hard to earn another opportunity.

"The selectors are looking for a consistency of performance from the team and to maintain that standard. We're looking to find players that are capable of producing those performances."

Squad Karen Rolton (capt), Lisa Sthalekar, Sarah Andrews, Alex Blackwell, Kate Blackwell, Renee Chappell, Leonie Coleman (wk), Sarah Edwards, Delissa Kimmince, Shelley Nitschke, Ellyse Perry, Jodie Purves, Emma Sampson, Kirsten Pike.