Ireland v West Indies, Women's Twenty20 international, Dublin

Taylor powers West Indies to convincing win

Cricinfo staff

June 27, 2008

Text size: A | A

West Indies 184 for 4 (Taylor 90, King 52) beat Ireland 109 for 7 (Cecilia Joyce 41, Alexander 3-20) by 75 runs

West Indies cherished their first Twenty20 international with a 75-run rout over Ireland at the Rush Cricket Club in Dublin on Friday. The win was set-up by Stefanie Taylor's 49-ball 90 and Stacy-Ann King's 52, which propelled West Indies to an imposing 184. The target proved well out of reach for the home side, who managed 109 for 7 in their allotted overs.

Ireland tasted early success after sending West Indies in, getting rid of the captain Nadine George for 1. However, they struggled to effect more breakthroughs as Taylor and Juliana Nero added 58 for the second wicket which set the platform for the biggest partnership of the match - 108 - between Taylor and King. Taylor smashed 12 fours and a six in her knock while King carted fives sixes and three fours in her 34-ball innings. Taylor, however, fell ten short of what would have been the first international Twenty20 century by a West Indies batsman when she was dismissed by Melissa Scott-Hayward, the right-arm seamer.

Ireland were pegged back when Danielle Small removed the openers early, before Kirbyina Alexander took three middle-order wickets with her medium pace in an economical four-over spell to further tighten the noose. No batsman managed to cross fifty, with Cecilia Joyce's 41 being the highest.

West Indies sign off their tour of Ireland with the third ODI on Sunday before heading to Netherlands.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »