Ireland v Netherlands, Women's European Championship 2009, Dublin

All-round Richardson guides Ireland to title

Cricinfo staff

August 5, 2009

Text size: A | A

Ireland women 71 for 0 (Joyce 35*, Richardson 28*) beat Netherlands women 68 (Wattenberg 34, Richardson 5-13, Metcalfe 4-21) by 10 wickets

The Ireland women's team after winning the European championship, Ireland v Netherlands, The Vineyard, Dublin, August 5, 2009
The Ireland team had little trouble on their way to the European championship title © ICC/CricketEurope

Eimear Richardson starred with bat and ball again to set up Ireland's crushing victory over Netherlands in the finals of the women's European championships.

The scoreboard was strikingly similar to Ireland's demolition of Scotland on Monday - Richardson again picking a bagful of wickets, the opposition folding for a double-digit total, and Ireland's openers sprinting to the target with more than 35 overs to spare.

Unlike Scotland though, Netherlands made a solid start after winning the toss. Their openers added 35, a stand dominated by Violet Wattenberg, before a run-out gave Ireland their first breakthrough. It was a procession after that, with Richardson and legspinner Ciara Metcalfe running through the Netherlands batting.

Wattenberg (34) was the only batsman who made more than 7 - extras was the next highest contributor with 10. Metcalfe had Wattenberg bowled when the score was 45 for 2, and a spectacular collapse followed leaving Ireland a target of 69.

Ireland's openers, Richardson and Cecelia Joyce, had little trouble knocking off the runs, scoring at more than a five an over. Richardson favoured the zone between covers and point, hitting three fours on her way to 28, while Joyce picked off several of her five boundaries through square leg and midwicket as she raced to 35.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »