West Indies Women tour of South Africa 2009-10 September 29, 2009

Taai returns to national fold after more than four years

Cricinfo staff

Angelique Taai will mark her return to international cricket after more than four years, following her inclusion in the 14-member South African squad to take on West Indies during the home series in October. The 22-year old, who last represented her country against the same opposition back in April 2005, was delighted with her call-up.

"I am really looking forward to the challenge ahead," Taai said. "The selectors have shown a lot of faith in me, considering that I was not in the initial squad so I want to show that I deserved the call-up by producing results."

The hard-hitting middle-order batsman and medium-pace bowler was rewarded for her performances with East Coast at the Women's Super 4's that were held in Kimberly over the weekend. Highveld were the winners of the four-day competition as they coasted to a seven-wicket victory over defending champions, West Coast.

Also included in the squad is Gauteng's Kirsty Thompson. Thompson was initially part of the team for the 2009 Women's World Cup held in Australia in March, but pulled out because of a lower-back stress fracture.

"The Super 4's was a very successful competition, the girls played quality cricket and some seriously put their hands up for selection," said Denise Reid, the national convenor of selectors. "We felt that our batting was a bit thin and has been an area of weakness so we decided to bring in Angelique and Kirsty to help bolster up the batting order.

"Angelique is an aggressive batter and she will bring in something extra to the squad, she is also very useful with the ball. Kirsty had an excellent tournament and stood out among the ladies and she will compliment Cri-zelda Brits and Mignon Du Preez at the top. "

Squad: Sunette Loubser (capt), Cri-zelda Brits, Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shandre Fritz, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ashlyn Kilowan, Marcia Letsoalo, Alicia Smith, Angelique Taai, Kirsty Thompson, Charlize van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk.