Women's cricket

New Zealand announce second leg of Rose Bowl series

Cricinfo staff

October 1, 2009

Text size: A | A

A plane adds to the picturesque settings at Queenstown, New Zealand v Sri Lanka, 1st ODI, Queenstown, December 31, 2005
Queenstown will host women's cricket for the first time next year Phil Walter / © Getty Images
Related Links

The Australian and New Zealand women's teams will be seeing a lot of each other this summer. New Zealand Cricket have announced the second leg of the Rose Bowl series between the teams, comprising two Twenty20 internationals and three ODIs in New Zealand, immediately following the first leg, which consists of five ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals, in Australia in February 2010.

The two Twenty20 internationals will be played in Wellington on February 26 and Christchurch on February 28 as curtain-raisers to the men's matches between New Zealand and Australia. The one-day internationals will be played in Queenstown and Invercargill, venues that will be hosting internationals women's matches for the first time.

"The schedule means we'll have five Twenty20 matches against strong opposition, heading into the ICC World Twenty20 competition in the West Indies in May," Gary Stead, the New Zealand women coach, said. "We were pleased with the good showing in our two international competitions last summer, but obviously we're aiming to improve on our second placing at the World Twenty20 event.

"The squad has been working hard over the winter with a highly successful series of training camps - and these games against the Australians will be ideal match preparation."

Each of the two legs will constitute separate series and the Rose Bowl trophy will be at stake in each campaign. Australia are the current holders, having retained the trophy after a drawn series in New Zealand earlier this year.

The Rose Bowl series was founded in 1978-79, and was originally awarded to the winner of a three-Test series. With the decline in women's Test matches - the two sides have not played a Test since 1995 - the Rose Bowl series continued to be played as an annual limited-overs competition.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
Only Test: Eng Women v India Women at Wormsley
Aug 13-16, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
1st ODI: Aus Women v Pak Women at Brisbane
Aug 21, 2014
1st ODI: Eng Women v India Women at Scarborough
Aug 21, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
2nd ODI: Aus Women v Pak Women at Brisbane
Aug 23, 2014
2nd ODI: Eng Women v India Women at Scarborough
Aug 23, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures »