Australian women's news

Sarah Andrews announces her retirement

Cricinfo staff

March 9, 2010

Text size: A | A

Sarah Andrews in action, Australia v West Indies, Group A, women's World Cup, Sydney, March 12, 2009
Sarah Andrews played 39 ODIs for Australia © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sarah Andrews
Teams: Australia

Sarah Andrews, the Australian fast bowler, has announced her retirement from all forms of cricket. Andrews, 28, has departed after a career of three Tests, 39 one-day internationals and 16 Twenty20 internationals.

Andrews was a member of the squad that recently returned from New Zealand with the Rose Bowl trophy and she was part of Australia's 2008-09 World Cup group. She has also been a key player for the New South Wales Brakers during a dominant era for the team.

"I've been playing representative cricket for the last 10 years and have thoroughly enjoyed it. It has been a big part of my life so this was always going to be a very tough decision," Andrews said. "I am going to miss it a lot, especially my team mates and all the characters within the game. I've have a lot of fond memories of cricket and it's been great to be part of so many successful teams."

Andrews leaves the game with 54 one-day international wickets at 21.14, placing her equal ninth on Australia's all-time list. She also claimed four Test wickets at 33.75 and 10 Twenty20 victims at 36.80.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
3rd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Melbourne
Nov 7, 2014 (14:30 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »