England Women v NZ Women, 5th ODI, Lord's

McGlashan guides New Zealand to consolation victory

Cricinfo staff

July 20, 2010

Text size: A | A

New Zealand 178 for 4 (McGlashan 65*, Satterthwaite 59) beat England 176 for 9 (Greenway 65, Bermingham 4-35) by six wickets

Erin Bermingham impressed with four wickets at Lord's, England Women v New Zealand Women, 5th ODI, Lord's, July 20, 2010
Erin Bermingham impressed in the field as she took four wickets © Getty Images

New Zealand secured a consolation six-wicket victory in the final one-day international at Lord's as Sara McGlashan and Amy Satterthwaite guided a successful run chase after an impressive performance in the field restricted England to 176 for 9.

The visitors had problems at the beginning of the chase with Katherine Brunt and Laura Marsh reducing them to 35 for 3 in 12th over. However, Satterthwaite and McGlashan played sensibly to keep the required rate well under control as England struggled to make further breakthroughs.

Satterthwaite went to her fifty from 80 balls but couldn't see out the pursuit when she fell to Holly Colvin and it was left to McGlashan, with 65 from 113 deliveries, and captain Aimee Watkins (11 not out) to guide New Zealand home with 20 balls to spare.

England had struggled in their innings after choosing to bat first with Sarah Taylor caught behind in the fourth over. They limped to 68 for 5 in the 22nd over, but Lydia Greenway continued her good form with a fighting 65 to at least keep the innings afloat.

New Zealand, though, kept chipping away with Erin Bermingham particularly impressive as she collected 4 for 35 while Sophie Devine and Nicola Browne each bagged two wickets.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 23, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »