India women v West Indies women, 1st ODI, Mumbai

All-round Taylor stars in big West Indies win

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 10, 2011

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

West Indies women 162 for 1 (Taylor 85*, Daley 44*) beat India women 161 (Raut 33, Mohammed 4-27) by nine wickets

Stafanie Taylor gets down on one knee to smash the ball, South Africa women v West Indies women, 1st ODI, Paarl, October 16, 2009
Stafanie Taylor made an unbeaten 85 and claimed two wickets © Getty Images
Related Links

West Indies cruised to an easy victory in the first ODI in Mumbai, thanks to a four-wicket haul from offspinner Anisa Mohammed and an unbeaten 85 from opener Stafanie Taylor. Mohammed played a critical role in bowling India out for 161 by claiming top scorer Poonam Raut and India's best batsman Mithali Raj among her four scalps.

India had started well, with openers Raut and Anagha Deshpande adding 45. At 71 for 1, it seemed India would post a competitive score but Mohammed struck twice in consecutive overs, and came back to inflict two more blows to the middle order. Supported by Taylor, who starred in an all-round performance by also picking up two wickets, Mohammed ensured West Indies were set a target not too difficult to chase.

Taylor lost fellow opener Juliana Nero early, but batted solidly with Shanel Daley, who made 44, to add a match-winning 137 in an unbeaten stand. The second game of the five-match series will be held in Vadodara on January 13.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by hemant.pande on (January 11, 2011, 6:30 GMT)

West indies men team is good for nothing....Now hope only relies in the hands of women team....GO and win the series..

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts) - Oct 23
SL Women won by 7 runs
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »