India women v West Indies women, 4th ODI, Rajkot

Mithali Raj stars in close win for India

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 18, 2011

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

India 216 for 4 (Raj 109* 46, Raut 62) beat West Indies 206 (Taylor 83, David 3-39) by 10 runs

India's bowlers backed up a strong performance from their batsmen to seal a 10-run win over West Indies in the fourth ODI in Rajkot. The series is now tied at 2-2 with the final ODI to be played at the same venue on January 19.

West Indies won the toss and elected to field on what looked like a good pitch for batting. The India openers Poonam Raut and Neha Tanwar started off slowly and India managed to reach only 38 runs in the 15th over before Tanwar was run out. That brought Mithali Raj to the crease and the tempo of the game changed. Raj looked in fine form as she carted the West Indies bowlers all over the park. She and Raut added 108 for the second wicket before Raut was dismissed for 63. Raj, however, continued in the same vein as she reached her century off 100 balls, the last 50 runs coming off just 34 balls. She was unbeaten on 106 as India reached 216 for 4 in their 50 overs.

West Indies' chase started off strongly as openers Stafanie Taylor and Julian Nero added 127 within 33 overs before they were run out in quick succession. That derailed the chase as the remaining batsmen failed to string together substantial partnerships. Shemaine Campbelle hit some big blows and West Indies were still in with a chance when they needed 13 runs off the last over. However, offspinner Diana David held her nerve to dismiss Campbelle and No. 10 Anisa Mohammed in the final over as West Indies were bowled out for 206.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (January 18, 2011, 23:13 GMT)

No Score Card is available for this match ??

Posted by vinvin2210 on (January 18, 2011, 21:47 GMT)

I would really request cricinfo to take a stand and start publishing women cricket's stories in the top 3 headlines... or else create a special link on the top left hand side of the page..I know its not a revenue generator but women's cricket and associate cricketing nations continue to be neglected even by cricinfo despite their efforts...

But to Mithali Raj.. Very well done!!! A brilliant cricketer...

Posted by   on (January 18, 2011, 15:44 GMT)

weldone india chak deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 24, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
2nd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 26, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
3rd ODI: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 28, 2014 (15:00 local | 09:30 GMT | 04:30 EST | 03:30 CST | 01:30 PST)
Only T20I: India Women v SA Women at Bangalore
Nov 30, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
1st ODI: NZ Women v Eng Women at Mount Maunganui
Feb 11, 2015 (10:30 local | 21:30 GMT | 16:30 EST | 15:30 CST | 13:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »