England Women in South Africa 2011

England Women name touring squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

September 7, 2011

Text size: A | A

Charlotte Edwards scored a run-a-ball 43, England Women v Australia Women, Bristol, NatWest Women's T20 Quadrangular Series, June 25, 2011
Charlotte Edwards leads the squad to South Africa after a successful summer © Associated Press
Related Links

England Women have named a 14-strong squad for their tour of South Africa in October.

The squad will be based in Potchefstroom from October 17 - 31 and will play a three-match ODI series and a three-match Twenty20 series against South Africa at Senwes Park.

Sussex's Georgia Elwiss is included after being called up as bowling cover during the NatWest Women's Quadrangular Series earlier this year. Elwiss, a 20-year-old medium-fast bowler, will be hoping to make her international debut, while Sussex team-mate Holly Colvin will remain in England to concentrate on university studies. Tammy Beaumont and Susie Rowe return to the England squad after a successful summer with Kent and the academy.

The teams last met in the group stages of the 2010 World Twenty20 where England beat Cri-Zelda Brits' South Africa team by 56 runs. Charlotte Edwards will lead the England squad and look to continue the teams winning performances from this summer.

Mark Lane, England's head coach, said: "I was very pleased with our performances over the summer; we saw contributions throughout the squad.

"We will be looking to take the positive performances from this summer with us to South Africa and on to New Zealand in February. Both winter tours will serve as important preparation for us as we look ahead to the World Twenty20 in 2012 and then onto the World Cup in 2013.

"The team has real strength in depth at the moment so we will be looking for every player to perform and continue to improve both individually and as a team."

England squad: Charlotte Edwards (capt), Jenny Gunn, Tammy Beaumont, Arran Brindle, Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Lydia Greenway, Isa Guha, Danni Hazell, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Susie Rowe, Sarah Taylor, Danni Wyatt.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »