Australia v New Zealand, 5th Women's T20, Melbourne

Australia Women finish series on a high

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 3, 2012

Text size: A | A

Australia Women 7 for 129 (Healy 30, Doolan 3-12) beat New Zealand Women 7 for 109 (Mackay 21*, Hunter 2-15) by 20 runs

Alyssa Healy top scored as Australia ended the series with a win, Australia v New Zealand, 5th Women's T20, Melbourne, February 3, 2012
Alyssa Healy top scored for Australia © Getty Images

Australia Women ended the five-match Twenty20 series against New Zealand Women on a high, winning at the MCG by 20 runs. That meant they finished 4-0 up, and Lisa Sthalekar was named Player of the Series.

Australia, after choosing to bat, stumbled to 2 for 16 before Alyssa Healy and Rachael Haynes briefly: the pair put on 34, which was the joint-highest partnership in the match. Healy went on to top score with 30, as none of Australia's batsmen could build on starts. But with seven of the nine that had a chance to bat getting into double digits, Australia were propelled to a very competitive 7 for 129. Lucy Doolan was the pick of New Zealand's bowlers, taking 3 for 21 in her four.

New Zealand's innings mirrored Australia's in that none of the batsmen who got off to starts could go on to score substantially. Their highest partnership of the innings came for the sixth wicket, 34 from Katie Perkins and Frances Mackay, and with the Australia bowlers keeping things tight, the visitors were always behind in the chase. In the end, they finished on 7 for 109 to hand Australia the match.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
1st T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 23, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »