Women's cricket November 27, 2012

Test cricket returns with Ashes clash

ESPNcricinfo staff

While Australia's men will be trying to regain the Ashes in England next summer, Australia's women are faced with the opposite scenario as Women's Test cricket returns to the schedule.

The one-off Ashes Test is the sole-remaining five-day fixture in the Women's calendar. England and Australia will meet at Wormsley on August 13 - coinciding with the conclusion of the 4th Ashes Test of the men's series.

Despite England's dominance of the women's game in recent years, Australia have taken two notable scalps. They beat England by four runs in the final of the Women's World T20 in Colombo and in 2011 regained the Ashes with a seven wicket win in Sydney. England will look to take back the urn they had held since 2005.

The Test precedes a three-match ODI series, beginning at Lord's on August 20 before two matches at Hove on August 23 and 25. The tour concludes with thee T20s, the first of which takes places under floodlights at Chelmsford on August 27. The final two matches of the series serve as the hors d'orderves before men's T20s at Southampton and Durham.

"We are delighted to be hosting Australia during the much-anticipated Ashes summer," Head of England Women's Cricket, Clare Connor said. "From recent bi-lateral series and the encounter between the two teams in the final of the World T20, England and Australia are leading the way in the women's game with consistently high quality performances. A summer comprising all three formats of the game will be certain to provide an entertaining and hard fought few weeks."

England Women v Australia Women 2013
August 13-16, Ashes Test, Wormsley
August 20, 1st ODI, Lord's
August 23, 2nd ODI, Hove
August 25, 3rd ODI, Hove
August 27, 1st T20, Chelmsford
August 29, 2nd T20, Southampton
August 31, 3rd T20, Durham