Women's cricket

Ireland to host women's T20 qualifiers

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 17, 2012

Comments: 2 | Text size: A | A

Ireland will host the Women's World Twenty20 Qualifiers next year to determine which of eight teams will fill the final spot at the main tournament which will next be staged in Bangladesh in 2014.

For the qualifier, which will be held in July and August, hosts Ireland will be joined by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, who both took part in this year's World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, alongside Canada, Japan and Netherlands. The final two places in the summer tournament will be taken by qualifiers from the Africa and Asia regions.

Warren Deutrom, the Cricket Ireland chief executive, said: "It's fantastic news for Irish cricket and a tremendous boost for the promotion of the women's game throughout the country."

Isobel Joyce, the Ireland captain, was looking forward to playing in home conditions. "This gives everyone involved in Irish women's cricket a great lift and it's a great incentive for the players to have the chance to make it to the final stages of a global event," she said. "We're already training hard for the event and while it's obviously a big advantage to be playing in our conditions, we know it'll be very difficult against teams of the quality of Pakistan and Sri Lanka."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by greeny69 on (December 17, 2012, 20:17 GMT)

@ theriseingteam as host bangladesh is already in the world t20 so they don't have to go through the qualifies in ireland

Posted by TheRisingTeam on (December 17, 2012, 12:07 GMT)

wait! wait! wait! the 8 women team back in Sri Lanka didn't include Ireland or Bangladesh but because the next one will be held in Bangladesh, shouldn't Bangladesh women team be in that tournament? otherwise I don't see the point in holding a women tournament in 2014 over there without the hosts besides, the Bangladesh women team made a very impressive start in Cricket beating some teams like South Africa I believe.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Teams: Ireland
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »