ICC Twenty20 Women's World Cup Qualifiers

South Africa supreme as Kenya's fall continues

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 21, 2012

Text size: A | A

South Africa won the African Qualifiers for the ICC Twenty20 Women's World Cup played in Tanzania and will be joined by Zimbabwe at the 2014 tournament in Bangladesh.

The South Africans took part even though they had already got automatic qualification, leaving only one place up for grabs. Hosts Tanzania were the surprise package as they claimed third place thanks to wins over the more fancied Kenya, Uganda and Namibia.

Kenya came into the tournament as the most likely challengers to Zimbabwe but failed dismally to make any impression, finishing bottom in the standings without a win to cap a wretched year for the country's men's and women's sides.

"I don't think the selectors will be happy with the performance of some of the senior players in the team," team manager Dunn Okinyo admitted. "They have not done an inch of what they were supposed to do resulting to poor performance."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Fixtures Results
1st T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 23, 2014 (10:00 local | 04:30 GMT | 00:30 EDT | 23:30 CDT | 21:30 PDT)
2nd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (Colts)
Oct 25, 2014 (09:50 local | 04:20 GMT | 00:20 EDT | 23:20 CDT | 21:20 PDT)
3rd T20I: SL Women v SA Women at Colombo (MCA)
Oct 26, 2014 (14:00 local | 08:30 GMT | 04:30 EDT | 03:30 CDT | 01:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Sydney
Nov 2, 2014 (10:00 local | 23:00 GMT | 19:00 EDT | 18:00 CDT | 16:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Aus Women v WI Women at Adelaide
Nov 5, 2014 (14:00 local | 03:30 GMT | 22:30 EST | 21:30 CST | 19:30 PST)
Complete fixtures »