Australia v New Zealand, 2nd Women's T20, Melbourne

Lanning helps Australia draw level

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 22, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Australia Women 5 for 135 (Lanning 64, Ruck 2-17) beat New Zealand Women 6 for 132 (Satterthwaite 44, Schutt 2-20) by five wickets

Ellyse Perry was Australia's most productive bowler in the first Twenty20, Australia v New Zealand, 1st Twenty20, Melbourne, January 22, 2013
Meg Lanning steered Australia's chase, scoring 64 © Getty Images
Australia Women leveled the Twenty20 series against New Zealand with a close, five-wicket win in Melbourne on Tuesday. Earlier in the day, New Zealand Women had beaten Australia by six wickets.

Chasing a target of 132, Australia's innings revolved largely around opener Meg Lanning - who was their batting mainstay in the first T20 too - whose knock of 64 included seven fours. Although the New Zealand bowlers picked up wickets regularly, the target was too small for them to defend and Australia knocked off the runs with a ball to spare.

Having chosen to bat, the New Zealand batsmen got off to a solid start and looked set to rattle up a big total. However, the Australia bowling unit managed to peg them back, as New Zealand went from being 2 for 121 to 6 for 130. Medium-pacer Megan Schutt and offspinner Erin Osborne were the most effective bowlers for Australia.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by zenboomerang on (January 23, 2013, 0:42 GMT)

Good effort by both teams playing 2 x T20's on the same day (1 all)- noticed they both changed their squads & batting orders - wonder how much this affected the performances & also players moral?... Meg Lanning is really turning into a major batsman for Oz & showing great form - only 20 y.o. & can only get better...

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »