SL v WI, 2nd women's T20, Colombo

All-round West Indies go 2-0 up with thumping win

ESPNcricinfo staff

March 3, 2013

Text size: A | A

West Indies 74 for 4 (Kyshona Knight 24*, Kaushalya 2-13) beat Sri Lanka 73 for 8 (Munroe 2-10, Smartt 2-13) by six wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

West Indies completed a crushing victory over Sri Lanka in the second game of the Twenty20 series, winning by six wickets with 26 balls to spare at the R Premadasa. That puts West Indies 2-0 up with three to play.

Like in the first game, Sri Lanka chose to bat, and yet again their batsmen flopped. Their top-scorer was No. 9 Chamani Seneviratna with just 12, as they crawled to 73 for 8. That the innings included just two fours shows the dominance the West Indies' bowlers enjoyed. None of the bowlers' figures stood out though, the wickets shared among Tremayne Smartt, Shanel Daley, Subrina Munroe and Shemaine Campbelle.

None of the visitor's batsmen scored substantially either, but the tiny target meant a succession of cameos from the top order was enough. The only highlight of the match for Sri Lanka came from medium pacer Eshani Kaushalya, who was on a hat-trick in the second over of the chase, having bowled Deandra Dottin and Juliana Nero off consecutive deliveries.

The third T20 will be played at the same venue on March 5.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
3rd T20I: Aus Women v Pak Women at Gold Coast - Sep 3
Pak Women 32/4 (9.3/20 ov)
2nd T20I: Eng Women v SA Women at Northampton
Sep 3, 2014 (18:30 local | 17:30 GMT | 13:30 EDT | 12:30 CDT | 10:30 PDT)
4th T20I: Aus Women v Pak Women at Gold Coast
Sep 5, 2014 (13:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 23:00 EDT | 22:00 CDT | 20:00 PDT)
3rd T20I: Eng Women v SA Women at Birmingham
Sep 7, 2014 (10:30 local | 09:30 GMT | 05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT)
1st T20I: Ire. Women v SA Women at Solihull
Sep 9, 2014 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
2nd T20I: Ire. Women v SA Women at Solihull
Sep 9, 2014 (15:30 local | 14:30 GMT | 10:30 EDT | 09:30 CDT | 07:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures »