India v Bangladesh, 1st women's ODI

Harmanpreet guides India to five-wicket win

ESPNcricinfo staff

April 8, 2013

Comments: 4 | Text size: A | A

India 196 for 5 (Harmanpreet Kauk 63*, Deshpande 47) beat Bangladesh 194 for 9 (Khatun 75*, Mondal 39, Bisht 3-27) by five wickets

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur's seventh ODI fifty guided the side to a five-wicket win over Bangladesh in the first of the three ODIs in Ahmedabad.

Chasing 195, India had a sluggish start and Harmanpreet came in to bat when the score was 37 for 2 in the 13th over. An 83-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Harmanpreet and Anagha Deshpande revived the chase for India. Once Deshpande was out for a 50-ball 47, Harmanpreet and the lower middle order took India home with four balls to spare. Harmanpreet's unbeaten 63 came off 100 balls and had only three fours.

Earlier, Bangladesh chose to bat first and scored 194 for 9. They began at a fair pace but lost their openers quickly. Rumana Ahmed (38) and Lata Mondal (39) steadied the innings, but their partnership of 57 took 98 balls, slowing down the innings. After the pair was dismissed, captain Salma Khatun held one end up, bringing up her first ODI fifty. She received little support from the other end, however, as the Indian bowlers, led by left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht, dismissed the middle and lower order. Khatun was unbeaten on 75 at the end of the innings and her 82-ball knock included 11 fours. Bisht finished with 3 for 27 while Shubhlakshmi Sharma picked up two wickets.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by gsingh7 on (April 9, 2013, 12:09 GMT)

come on team india win 3-0 and whitewash the bangladeshi team

Posted by Baundele on (April 8, 2013, 13:37 GMT)

Proud of the Bangladesh team's performance. We are almost there.

Posted by cricbilla on (April 8, 2013, 12:59 GMT)

Congrats Team India(W)..Keep the same spirit throughout the tournament..

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »