India v Sri Lanka, 1st women's ODI, Visakhapatnam

Sultana four-for sets up India win

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 19, 2014

Comments: 5 | Text size: A | A

India Women 80 for 3 (Raj 34*) beat Sri Lanka Women 76 (Sultana 4-4) by seven wickets

Gouher Sultana took four wickets for only four runs, India v Sri Lanka, 1st women's ODI, Visakhapatnam, January 19, 2014
Gouher Sultana's career-best figures of 4 for 4 gave India an easy win © BCCI
Related Links

A strong bowling performance by India Women, led by left-arm spinner Gouher Sultana's four-for, set up the side's seven-wicket win over Sri Lanka Women in the first match of the three-game ODI series in Visakhapatnam.

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat but were dealt early blows as Jhulan Goswami, playing her first game since February 2013, struck early to dismiss opener Chamari Atapattu and Deepika Rasangika. That set the template for the Sri Lanka innings as the batsmen failed to build partnerships before eventually folding for 76 in 39.3 overs. Yasoda Mendis was the only batsman to score in double figures as the rest of the batting line-up was stifled by India. Sultana eventually finished with figures of 8-4-4-4, her best figures in ODIs, while Goswami and Rajeshwari Gayakwad bagged two wickets each.

India took just seven overs less than Sri Lanka to achieve the target. The openers Karu Jain and Smriti Mandhana added 15 runs before their stand ended in 10.3 overs. The innings progressed at the same pace and although Sri Lanka picked up another two wickets, their low score meant that India were never really threatened. Mithali Raj and Anagha Deshpande guided most of the chase, adding 43 runs for the third wicket. Raj finished unbeaten on 34 off 59 balls with six fours.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Naresh28 on (January 20, 2014, 9:07 GMT)

Indian ladies play very, very few series each year. What is happening BCCI? Well done on the victory. Need to prove as a team outside India.

Posted by thaikkathameed on (January 20, 2014, 3:47 GMT)

Hope we can send couple of spinners and some batswomen to join our men's team in NZ. Players to be replaced are: Nohit Sharma, Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja and Ishant Sharma

Posted by   on (January 19, 2014, 14:45 GMT)

just forget this game girls and i know you are ready to take the challenge to the Indians...its time to put all your hard work in next match.. best of luck

Posted by Tweety20 on (January 19, 2014, 12:25 GMT)

Bad luck SL ladies but don't give up.keep fighting. I wish these games were televised so we (who can't physically be there) could cheer for our ladies.Its so refreshing to watch cricket with a feminine touch.

Posted by Abubvs on (January 19, 2014, 11:18 GMT)

Well done India..Absolute domination

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Fixtures Results
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
2nd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 11, 2015 ()
3rd ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 13, 2015 ()
1st T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 15, 2015 ()
2nd T20I: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 16, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures »