1884
4,500
Larkins Field End, Sea End
Sussex
19:15, Sun Apr 26, 2015 (UTC +0100)
The Saffrons
 

Profile

The Saffrons first hosted cricket in 1884, although cricket has been played at various venues around the town since the 1750s. The main Victorian pavilion was destroyed by fire in 1947 - its replacement was also damaged by fire in 1977.

Sussex first played on the ground in 1897 and continued fairly regularly until 2000. For a number of years HDG Leveson-Gower's XI played matches, and in 1921 an England XI captained by the veteran Archie MacLaren inflicted a remarkable defeat on Warwick Armstrong's all conquering Australians. But Sussex ditched the venue after complaints about the standard of the facilities. The land is also home to Eastbourne FC.

The name derives from the fact that saffrons, used for dying and in medicine, were once to be grown on the land.
Martin Williamson

Travel
Parking is plentiful on the ground and in surrounding streets. Eastbourne station is about half a mile away (15 minutes walk). There are buses which pass the venue.

Map Click here

Fixtures

2015
Mon Jun 22 (20 ovs)
Second Eleven Twenty20
South Division - Sussex 2nd XI v Gloucestershire 2nd XI
Mon Jun 22 (20 ovs)
Second Eleven Twenty20
South Division - Sussex 2nd XI v Gloucestershire 2nd XI
Tue Jun 23 - Thu Jun 25
11:00 local | 10:00 GMT
06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT
Second Eleven Championship
South Division - Sussex 2nd XI v Gloucestershire 2nd XI
Day and Night - Day and Night International Matches - International Matches Live - Covered by Cricinfo
No responsibility is taken by Cricinfo for the accuracy of this information.

Latest Photos

A county match at The Saffrons, Eastbourne in about 1930 (postcard)
A county match at The Saffrons, Eastbourne in about 1930
© Wisden
The pavilion at The Saffrons, Eastbourne in about 1910 (postcard)
The pavilion at The Saffrons, Eastbourne in about 1910
© Wisden

Weather

Weather.com
Sun
26/04

Partly Cloudy
Partly Cloudy

Min 4° C
Mon
27/04

Mostly Sunny
Mostly Sunny

Max 14° C
Min 4° C
Tue
28/04

Mostly Sunny
Mostly Sunny

Max 12° C
Min 6° C
Wed
29/04

AM Showers
AM Showers

Max 13° C
Min 6° C

Hour by Hour forecast » | 10-day forecast »

Ground Fixtures Ground Results
South Division: Sussx 2nd XI v Glouc 2nd XI at Eastbourne
Jun 22, 2015 (13:15 EDT | 12:15 CDT | 10:15 PDT)
South Division: Sussx 2nd XI v Glouc 2nd XI at Eastbourne
Jun 22, 2015 (13:15 EDT | 12:15 CDT | 10:15 PDT)
South Division: Sussx 2nd XI v Glouc 2nd XI at Eastbourne
Jun 23-25, 2015 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »