Dermott Monteith      

Full name James Dermott Monteith

Born June 2, 1943, Lisburn, Co Antrim

Died December 6, 2009 (aged 66 years 187 days)

Major teams Ireland, Middlesex

Nickname Monty

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Slow left-arm orthodox

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 28 39 5 530 95 15.58 0 2 23 0
List A 7 4 0 40 22 10.00 0 0 0 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 28 5597 1941 94 7/38 20.64 2.08 59.5 7 1
List A 7 392 217 5 1/21 1/21 43.40 3.32 78.4 0 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1965 - 1984
List A span 1980 - 1984
Profile

Slow left-armer Dermott Monteith was a 38-year-old veteran of Irish cricket when he was called upon by Middlesex as cover for the 1981 season. He proved more than capable at county level, taking 24 wickets in eight Championship appearances with a best of 5 for 60 against Essex. He was an ever-present in the Ireland side for two decades from the mid 1960s, taking 326 wickets, including 47 in five matches in 1971 - both records likely to remain. He subsequently became a leading administrator and a national selector. By the time he died, aged 66, he was already a legend of Irish cricket.
Martin Williamson

Latest Articles
Country Fixtures Country Results
Namibia v Ireland at Windhoek
Oct 24-27, 2015
2nd Match, Group B: Ire. Women v Neth Women at Bangkok
Nov 28, 2015 (10:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST -1d | 21:00 CST -1d | 19:00 PST -1d)
5th Match, Group B: China Wmn v Ire. Women at Bangkok
Nov 29, 2015 (10:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 22:00 EST -1d | 21:00 CST -1d | 19:00 PST -1d)
11th Match, Group B: Ire. Women v Zim Women at Bangkok
Dec 1, 2015 (13:45 local | 06:45 GMT | 01:45 EST | 00:45 CST | 22:45 PST -1d)
1st ODI: Ireland v Sri Lanka in Ireland (venue TBA)
Jun 16, 2016 (09:45 GMT | 17:44 EDT | 16:44 CDT | 14:44 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days