Frank Elworthy      

Full name Frank William Elworthy

Born June 11, 1893, Cambridge, England

Died March 15, 1978, Johannesburg, Transvaal (aged 84 years 277 days)

Major teams Transvaal

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Legbreak

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 14 21 7 171 44 12.21 0 0 3 0
Bowling averages
Mat Runs Wkts BBI Ave 5w 10
First-class 14 1133 42 6/60 26.97 2 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1912/13 - 1929/30
Profile

Frank Elworthy, who died in Johannesburg on March 15 at the age of 84, was one of the dwindling band who played first-class cricket in South Africa before the First World War. He made his debut for Transvaal in 1912-13 at the age of 19 and was a fairly regular member of the team until 1921-22, making one final appearance eight years later in 1929-30. A googly bowler, he was good enough to be selected for one of the unofficial Tests against the Australian Imperial Forces XI in 1919-20. His own favourite story, however, was that he was sent down to Durban in December 1920 specifically to `get' the famous Dave Nourse - who was at the height of his powers for Natal but reputed susceptible to spin - and did so first ball. In the second innings he bowled Herby Taylor, a notable double. This season of 1920-21 was his best and he took 19 wickets at 20 runs each.
The Cricketer

Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Test: New Zealand v South Africa at Hamilton - Mar 25-29
South Africa 314 New Zealand 203/1 (69.4 ov)
Qualifier: Knights v Warriors at Bloemfontein
Mar 27, 2017 (10:00 local | 08:00 GMT | 04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT)
Final: Titans v TBA in South Africa (venue TBA)
Mar 31, 2017 (12:00 GMT | 22:59 EDT -1d | 21:59 CDT -1d | 19:59 PDT -1d)
Sussex v South Africa at Hove
May 19, 2017
Northants v South Africa at Northampton
May 21, 2017
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days