ICC World Twenty20 2010

Kemp among South Africa's probables

Cricinfo staff

February 27, 2010

Text size: A | A

Justin Kemp pumps his fist after his unbeaten 89, South Africa v New Zealand, Group E, ICC World Twenty20, Durban, September 19, 2007
Justin Kemp back in South Africa contention Hamish Blair / © AFP
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20
Teams: South Africa

South Africa have named allrounder Justin Kemp in their initial squad of 30 for the ICC World Twenty20 to be played in the Caribbean in April and May 2010. Experienced fast bowler Makhaya Ntini, who is no longer a part of the Test and one-day sides, has also found a place in the list of probables.

Kemp joined the unofficial Indian Cricket League soon after the inaugural World Twenty20 in 2007, and hasn't played for South Africa in nearly two-and-a-half years. After the ban on him for ICL links was lifted at the start of the season, he has captained Cape Cobras to the top of the table in the Supersport Series and a place in the semi-finals of the Standard Pro20 series.

South Africa have also named four uncapped players in the preliminary squad. The four are batsman Colin Ingram and fast bowler Rusty Theron from the Warriors, batsman David Miller from the Dolphins and fast bowler Ethy Mbhalati of the Titans.

The final squad of 15 will be named in March.

Men's squad: Graeme Smith, Jacques Kallis, Yusuf Abdulla, Hashim Amla, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Colin Ingram, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Ethy Mbhalati, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe, Johannes van der Wath, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Morne van Wyk.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Australia v England at Bridgetown - May 16, 2010
England won by 7 wickets (with 18 balls remaining)
Australia v Pakistan at Gros Islet - May 14, 2010
Australia won by 3 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)
England v Sri Lanka at Gros Islet - May 13, 2010
England won by 7 wickets (with 24 balls remaining)
West Indies v Australia at Gros Islet - May 11, 2010
Australia won by 6 wickets (with 22 balls remaining)
India v Sri Lanka at Gros Islet - May 11, 2010
Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets (with 0 balls remaining)
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days
Sponsored Links

Why not you? Read and learn how!