ICC World Twenty20 2012

West Indies name Benn in 30-man squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 19, 2012

Comments: 44 | Text size: A | A

Sulieman Benn shared the new ball, India v West Indies, Group B, World Cup 2011, Chennai, March 20, 2011
Sulieman Benn is part of the 30-man preliminary squad © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Sulieman Benn
Series/Tournaments: ICC World Twenty20
Teams: West Indies

Sulieman Benn has moved closer to a return for West Indies after being named in their 30-man preliminary squad for the ICC World Twenty20. Benn has not played for West Indies since last year's World Cup, a tournament during which the team management was unimpressed by his off-field behaviour, and he lost his central contract later in 2011.

However, Benn played for West Indies A last month and has now found himself one of seven spinners in the 30-man group, along with Sunil Narine, Devendra Bishoo, Garey Mathurin, Nikita Miller, Samuel Badree and Shane Shillingford. There were no major surprises in the squad, with all 30 men having played for West Indies in one of the thee formats of the game.

Shillingford, Tino Best and Kieran Powell were the only men named in the squad who are yet to make their Twenty20 international debuts. Adrian Barath, Anthony Martin, Derwin Christian and Miles Bascombe were all overlooked, despite having played Twenty20 cricket for West Indies within the past year.

The final 15-man squad will be named next month.

West Indies squad Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Carlton Baugh, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Devendra Bishoo, Nkrumah Bonner, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Danza Hyatt, Garey Mathurin, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Shane Shillingford, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Devon Thomas.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by mar2000 on (July 22, 2012, 21:58 GMT)

I will not play Rampaul or Ramdin in the world T20 squad . If a specialist keeper is needed i will go for Thomas seeing that he bat's quite well . The WI seems to be finish with BAUGH who is the best(keeper) of them all .They should stick to Gayle and Smith to open and keep that partnership going at the top because its a "force" to recond with once get going in full-cry .just remember Hayden and Gilchrist , Grennidge and Haynes, Sewag and Sachen, etc.Just think of being an opening bowler and having tow of these guys ,one at each end .

Posted by   on (July 22, 2012, 2:20 GMT)

why dont they have kevon cooper he is a good bowler a good athlete in the field and can hit a few sixes. he should have been instead of baugh. btw my XI. gayle smith darren bravo samuels dwayne bravo pollard ramdin sammy russel narine rampaul.

Posted by   on (July 21, 2012, 17:55 GMT)

They should select bishoo

Posted by   on (July 21, 2012, 3:29 GMT)

The best westindies team for world cup......... 1)sammy(c),2)dwayne bravo(v.c),3)samuels,4)pollard,5)narine,6)gayle, 7)russel , 8)narine,9)dwanesmith,10)simmons,11)ramdin,12)rampaul,13)best, 14)benn,15)darren bravo........ And the best 11 was, gayle,simmons,smith,,dwane bravo,samuels,pollard,russel,sammy,rampaul,narine,benn

Posted by SwingandSeam on (July 20, 2012, 16:51 GMT)

Fidel Edwards and Tino Best? Neither of them can bowl a consistent line or length and will heaved over the boundary almost every ball. I would even prefer to give a chance to newboy Delorn Johnson, rather than turn to these old gunslingers again and again.

Posted by   on (July 20, 2012, 16:17 GMT)

Depending on the pitch, I would say two spinners are a must. My fifteen: 1. Gayle 2. Dwayne Smith 3. Darren Bravo 4. Marlon Samuels 5. Keiron Pollard 6. Andre Russel 7. Darren Sammy 8. Denish Ramdin 9. Kemar Roach 10. Sunil Narine 11. Samuel Badree 12. Ravi Rampaul 13. Dwayne Bravo 14. Lendl Simmons 15. Suleiman Benn

Posted by simonviller on (July 20, 2012, 16:05 GMT)

In response to the "tripe " that's posted about small island players ; You seem to lack cricketing knowledge as far as the W.I cricket is concerned . Yes, some great players are from the larger colonies , but the greatest of the greats is from a smaller colony . If "SIR'' means anything to you :- Sir GARFIELD /Sir Viv/ Sir Fank/ Sir Everton/ Sir Clyde , these names are synonymous with what we come to know as great WI cricket . I'll leave you to figure out their full names if you don't know ; and figure also their " colony" of origin .

Posted by   on (July 20, 2012, 15:30 GMT)

my 11: GAYLE, SMITH, CHARLES, SAMUELS, POLLARD, RUSSELL, SAMMY, RAMDIN, RAMPUAL, ROACH, NARINE. DWAYNE BRAVO over the past couple of series didn't really perform but can be rotated with Samuels. i think rampaul is the Best Fast Bowler in the WI and should be playing more! the battle is really between Edwards and Roach.

Posted by   on (July 20, 2012, 7:55 GMT)

3 keepers with extra speciality Keeper..!!! Bowling unit is key for WI with Russel as 6th and Sammy as 7th Batsmen.....Usually Narine and Fiedel/Roach with me tested with big teams..Al is wel....WI and Aus,Eng,SL are seroius favours.....hoping for twist in tourni...INDIANS need to ROCK and LIFT the CUP....DHONI is LUCKY GUY....

Posted by   on (July 20, 2012, 5:38 GMT)

15 men team :- Sammy [c] , Bravo Sr [vc] , Smith , Simmons , Gayle , Bravo Jr , Samuels , Rampaul , Ramdin , Roach , Russell , Pollard , Edwards , Best/Barnwell , Narine.

11 men team :- Simmons, Gayle , BravoJr/Samuels , Bravo Sr , Ramdin , Pollard , Russell , Sammy , Rampaul , Roach , Narine.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days