ICC World Twenty20 2012 July 19, 2012

Kallis and Smith slated for T20 comebacks

ESPNcricinfo staff

Jacques Kallis has made a return to South Africa's T20 plans after being included in the list of 30-man preliminary squad for the World T20 in Sri Lanka this September. Kallis last played as a regular member of the team in May 2010 during South Africa's tour of the West Indies. However, he took part in the only T20 game against India in March 2012 - a match played in his honour. Graeme Smith, who was dropped for the three-match T20 series against New Zealand in February, has also been included in the squad.

Kallis has missed several of South Africa's T20 internationals, but he was a key player for his IPL franchise Kolkata Knight Riders, scoring 409 runs and taking 15 wickets this season. Overall, Kallis has played 17 T20 internationals for his 573 runs and five wickets.

Also included is left-arm slow bowler Roelof van der Merwe whose last series for South Africa was the one in West Indies two years ago. Van der Merwe has played 12 T20 internationals and has a haul of 14 wickets while his economy is 6.93.

Three wicketkeepers have been named in the squad, including captain AB de Villiers, the other two being Morne van Wyk and Dane Vilas. De Villiers will continue as the captain of the side after leading the team to a 2-1 series win in New Zealand.

Squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Rusty Theron, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe, Morne van Wyk, Dane Vilas