|Photos||Video & Audio||Blogs||Statistics||Archive||Shop||Mobile|
Southgate, EnglandSouthgate CC, Walker Ground, Waterfall Road, Southgate, London N14 7JZ (Phone: 020-8886-8381)
The Walker Cricket Ground has been the home of Southgate CC since it was formed in 1855, and in early days many major matches, including games involving United All England and MCC which attracted crowds of up to 10,000. The ground grew in fame because of the Walker brothers who were instrumental in the formation and development of Middlesex CCC. In 1907 the name of the venue was changed from the original Chapel Fields to the Walker Cricket Ground.
The charming ground is in London but surrounded by oaks and with the spire of Christ Church as a backdrop, and with most no stands, it has all the feel of being in the country. Only the modern functional pavilion is a concession to the modern world.
In 1859 Middlesex played a first-class match against Kent which attracted around 10,000 spectators. Despite this, Middlesex did not return until 1991 when they played a Sunday League game, and did not play a first-class game again until 1998 when, as part of a move to reduce dependency on Lord's, they began to use outgrounds more. Since then, Southgate has been a regular and popular venue for both first-class and one-day matches.
Until 1946 there were no Sunday games at Southgate, only Saturdays and weekdays.
Map & Hotels Click here