Quick Links

Tyron Wijewardene      

Full name Tyron Hirantha Wijewardene

Born August 29, 1961, Maradana

Current age 55 years 271 days

Major teams Saracens

Batting style Left-hand bat

Bowling style Left-arm medium-fast

Other Umpire

Tyron Hirantha Wijewardene
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 5 5 0 118 52 23.60 0 1 23 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 5w 10
First-class 5 503 210 9 4/78 23.33 2.50 55.8 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1990/91 - 1990/91
Umpiring statistics
Test debut Sri Lanka v India at Kandy, Aug 22-25, 2001 scorecard
Last Test Bangladesh v Zimbabwe at Chittagong, Jan 6-10, 2005 scorecard
Test matches 4
Test statistics
ODI debut Australia v India at Colombo (SSC), Aug 28, 1999 scorecard
Last ODI Sri Lanka v Bangladesh at Hambantota, Mar 25, 2013 scorecard
ODI matches 52
ODI statistics
T20I debut Sri Lanka v India at Colombo (RPS), Feb 10, 2009 scorecard
Last T20I Sri Lanka v India at Pallekele, Aug 7, 2012 scorecard
T20I matches 7
T20I statistics

A former first-class cricketer of repute TH Wijewardene, known as BH Booso in his playing days was a useful lower order batsman and left-arm fast-medium bowler. Following his early retirement from the game he took to umpiring and stood in Tests and ODIs. He was elected to the ICC International Panel of Umpires and Referees as Sri Lanka's second umpire. Officiated in the 2003 ICC cricket World Cup. Emerged as Sri Lanka's top umpire at the Premier panel examination conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket for the season ending 2006-07, securing 90.81 percent marks out of a possible 100, a 14 percent margin over the rest of the umpires.
Sa'adi Thawfeeq February 2008

Latest Articles
Tournament Results
Pakistan v Sri Lanka at Lord's - Jun 21, 2009
Pakistan won by 8 wickets (with 8 balls remaining)
Sri Lanka v West Indies at The Oval - Jun 19, 2009
Sri Lanka won by 57 runs
Pakistan v South Africa at Nottingham - Jun 18, 2009
Pakistan won by 7 runs
India v South Africa at Nottingham - Jun 16, 2009
South Africa won by 12 runs
New Zealand v Sri Lanka at Nottingham - Jun 16, 2009
Sri Lanka won by 48 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days