World Twenty20 2009 May 9, 2009

Xavier Marshall recalled for World Twenty20

Cricinfo staff

Xavier Marshall, the Jamaica batsman, has been recalled to the West Indies side for the World Twenty20. His team-mate, the allrounder Dave Bernard who is currently part of the team trying to defend the Wisden Trophy in England, has also been picked for next month's tournament.

Chris Gayle leads the full-strength 15-man squad, with Denesh Ramdin as his deputy. The only player from the side that was selected for West Indies' previous Twenty20 (against England in Trinidad) to miss out is opener Devon Smith.

The explosive but inconsistent Marshall had been a part of the New Zealand tour late last year and also played the first Test against England in February before losing his place after an extended lean patch.

West Indies will be looking to improve on their poor showing in the inaugural World twenty20 in 2007, when they crashed out in the first round after losing matches to South Africa and Bangladesh. In this year's tournament in England, they are grouped with Australia and Sri Lanka in the first phase.

West Indies squad: Chris Gayle (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Lionel Baker, Sulieman Benn, David Bernard jnr., Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Xavier Marshall, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor