A tale of two novices
Text-book skill of the day
Jacques Kallis didn't play in the first World Twenty20 - which didn't go down well with the man himself - and he has gone about proving he can play the shortest format. He had a productive IPL and has now slotted into the opening role for his country. He isn't the type of batsmen to slog and carve the ball around, but one shot today showed there is plenty of room for elegance and grace in Twenty20. Jerome Taylor bowled a good length slower-ball, Kallis gave himself a touch of room and went inside-out over mid-off with timing to carry the boundary. Some shots in this tournament haven't been near the coaching manual, but Kallis' effort could have made page one.
Spell of the day
Wayne Parnell is shaping as one of the outstanding bowlers of the tournament at just 19 years of age. On Thursday he helped take out England's opening pair before wrapping up the tail and was at it again here. First he knocked back Andre Fletcher's off stump as the batsman had an ugly heave across the line, then claimed the vital scalp of Chris Gayle who lobbed a catch to midwicket. But it isn't just his wickets that are impressive, the economy rate is crucial and he finished his first two-over spell having conceded just three runs. And to cap his day, he claimed two more at the death.
Futile catch of the day
South Africa's fielding has been one of the stand-out features of the tournament and for a split second Graeme Smith thought he had taken a blinder. He ran in from midwicket to catch Dwayne Bravo, but the chance had been offered from a high full toss by Albie Morkel that surprised the batsman. Mark Benson, the umpire, was already signalling no-ball before Smith took the catch, but the South Africa captain only realised once he'd stood up. He didn't look best pleased, but couldn't have any arguments with the decision.
Counterattack of the day
With both openers gone for 13 in the fourth over, West Indies needed someone to stand up if they were to have a chance. Enter Lendl Simmons, who wasn't in the team at the start of the tournament, as he kicked the innings into life with four boundaries in five balls off Kallis in a half-century that took 31 balls. With him at the crease the target was still in sight for West Indies, but when he was caught at long-off the game swung decisively back to South Africa.
Bowling change of the day
JP Duminy hadn't been used in the tournament until being introduced for 12th over of the innings with Simmons flying and Shivnarine Chanderpaul settling in. His first ball was easily pushed away for a single, but the second would have done any frontline spinner proud. He saw Chanderpaul advancing, but had the nerve to toss the ball up and found a leading edge which looped back to the bowler; a vital wicket at a vital time and not a bad moment to claim your first dismissal of the tournament.
Wrong button of the day
When Kieron Pollard chipped a low full-toss from Parnell to Smith he stood his ground as the South Africans celebrated, thinking he had hit the ball into the ground. Replays clearly showed he was out, but then the big screen flashed up 'Not Out' and there was a collective gasp. A few second later, though, 'Out' appeared as the third umpire, Rod Tucker, found the correct button and a controversy was averted.
Andrew McGlashan is assistant editor of Cricinfo