Zimbabwe Domestic Twenty20 Competition

Mountaineers cruise to title win

ESPNcricinfo staff

February 10, 2013

Text size: A | A

Mountaineers 103 for 3 (Pettini 40) beat Mashonaland Eagles 106 (Mufudza 4-14, Mushangwe 2-20) by seven wickets (D/L method)
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Mountaineers cruised to a seven-wicket win against the Mashonaland Eagles in the final of the Domestic T20 Competition at the Harare Sports Club. After dismantling Eagles' batting order and dismissing them for 106, Mountaineers chased the revised target of 103 in the 18th over.

Choosing to bat first, the Eagles lost their first three wickets - Cephas Zhuwao, Sikandar Raza and Chamu Chibhabha - to Tapiwa Mufudza within the first six overs, finding themselves in trouble at 36 for 3. Stuart Matsikanyeri and Regis Chakabva put on 44 off 45 for the fourth wicket but once their partnership was broken, the Mountaineers got on top of them and skittled the remaining six wickets for 23 runs.

Due to a rain interruption, the revised target for Mountaineers was 103 in 19 overs. Mark Pettini got them off to a flying start but lost his opening partner Kevin Kasuza. Tino Mawoyo and Pettini then put on 50 in 33 balls but both of them fell in quick succession. With only 23 more to win, Timycen Maruma and Greg Lamb finished the match with 11 balls to spare to become the T20 champions.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Rocks v Tuskers at Masvingo - Mar 5-7, 2013
Rocks won by 6 wickets
Rhinos v Rocks at Kwekwe - Feb 26-Mar 1, 2013
Rhinos won by 118 runs
Eagles v Mountaineers at Harare - Feb 26-28, 2013
Mountaineers won by 8 wickets
Mountaineers v Tuskers at Mutare - Feb 19-22, 2013
Match drawn
Rocks v Eagles at Masvingo - Feb 19-22, 2013
Match drawn
All recent results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days