Zimbabwe v South Africa, only Test, Harare August 13, 2014

Elgar reprimanded for hitting stump with bat

ESPNcricinfo staff
  shares

Dean Elgar, the South Africa batsman, has been reprimanded after pleading guilty to a Level 1 breach of the ICC code of conduct during the fourth day's play in the one-off Test against Zimbabwe in Harare.

Elgar was found to have breached Article 2.1.2 of the code, which relates to "Abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match."

The charge related to an incident in the 10th over of South Africa's second innings, when Elgar, after being bowled, hit a stump with his bat. The charge was brought by on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Chris Gaffaney, third umpire Jeremiah Matibiri and fourth umpire Owen Chirombe.

Elgar admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Roshan Mahanama. As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.

All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50% of a player's match fee.

Comments have now been closed for this article