Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Taijul finishes with 11-for, Bangladesh need 321 to win

Bangladesh 143 and 26 for 0 (Liton 14*, Imrul 12*) need another 295 runs to beat Zimbabwe 282 and 181 (Masakadza 48, Taijul 5-62)

Having been set 321 to win, Bangladesh were unscathed in the last 10.1 overs of the third day against Zimbabwe in Sylhet. Liton Das and Imrul Kayes took out 26 from that target before bad light caused play to be called off 35 minutes before the scheduled end at 5:00 pm local time.

Imrul and Liton were largely safe at the crease, with only the odd play and miss. They remained unbeaten on 12 and 14 respectively. The offspinner Sikandar Raza produced a close call when he struck Liton's front pad in what turned out to be the last ball of the day. But a review showed it would have spun too much to miss the right-hander's leg-stump.

Bangladesh were brought back into the game by their spinners, chiefly, Taijul Islam, who took 5 for 62, to finish 11 for 170 in the match, his first 10-for. Zimbabwe were bowled out for 181 in the second innings with Mehidy Hasan and Nazmul Islam also providing support with three and two wickets each.

Taijul first removed Brendon Taylor, whose four boundaries added energy to Zimbabwe's innings in the morning, after Mehidy broke Brian Chari's off stump in the first session.

In the second session, Mehidy trapped Hamilton Masakadza lbw trying a reverse sweep, and soon afterwards, Taijul got three wickets in the space of 11 balls. Sean Williams, Peter Moor and Sikandar Raza fell in quick succession, after which Wellington Masakadza and Regis Chakabva stretched out their seventh-wicket stand by 19.1 overs.

Masakadza fell in the first over after tea before Nazmul Islam got the wickets of Chakabva and Brandon Mavuta in the same over. Taijul rounded off the Zimbabwe innings with his fifth, taking the wicket of Tendai Chatara.

Bangladesh 4th innings Partnerships

1st56Imrul KayesLiton Das
2nd11Imrul KayesMominul Haque
3rd16MahmudullahImrul Kayes
4th19MahmudullahNajmul Hossain Shanto
5th9Mushfiqur RahimNajmul Hossain Shanto
6th21Mushfiqur RahimAriful Haque
7th18Ariful HaqueMehidy Hasan Miraz
8th1Ariful HaqueTaijul Islam
9th4Ariful HaqueNazmul Islam
10th14Ariful HaqueAbu Jayed