Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Swapnil six-for gives Baroda bonus point

Baroda 33 for 0 and 498 (Devdhar 146, Irfan 98, Swapnil 73*, Waghmode 53, Murtaza 4-103) beat Uttar Pradesh 223 (Srivastava 112, Yusuf 6-67) and 307 (Umang 62, Chawla 57, Swapnil 6-91)

Swapnil Singh, the left-arm spinner, added to his maiden half-century in Baroda's first innings with a six-wicket haul that helped wrap up a bonus-point victory over Uttar Pradesh in Lucknow. Though the host batsmen managed a better fight while following on - there were a couple of fifties and a couple of forties - but they had fallen too far behind.

Swapnil had dismissed both openers last evening and contributed to the first strike in the morning as Umang Sharma fell for 62. Baroda's patience was tested by the next few batsmen. Arish Alam's 206 minutes at the crease translated to 48 runs, Eklavya Dwivedi helped himself to a run-a-ball 44 and their captain Piyush Chawla 57 off 97 balls to push themselves into the lead. It was quite slender though - 13 - at the time of his dismissal. The tail were unable to push it to meaningful proportions as Baroda were set 33 to win and they did so by 10 wickets, to secure the bonus point.

Tamil Nadu 246 (Karthik 92, Prasanna 50, Dinda 4-76) and 327 (Karthik 103*, Aparajith 68, Bharath Shankar 58) drew with Bengal 454 (Easwaran 150, Tiwary 97, Natarajan 3-93, Aushik Srinivas 3-101)

Tamil Nadu were content to draw with Bengal as they batted out the entire fourth day. There had been a brief spurt of excitement when the nightwatchman Aushik Srinivas was dismissed with only one run added in the morning, but Dinesh Karthik struck his second century in five matches to shepherd the innings through till stumps and tip his tally for the match to 195. His unbeaten 103 took 193 balls and 11 fours to keep Bengal winless for the season. B Aparajith played second fiddle during 103-run partnership, to which he contributed 68 off 128. Bharath Shankar, the other overnight batsman, also struck a maiden first-class fifty but could not push on.

Mumbai v Madhya Pradesh: Iyer ton secures draw for Mumbai

Tamil Nadu 3rd innings Partnerships

70A MukundK Bharath Shankar
12R Aushik SrinivasK Bharath Shankar
35B AparajithK Bharath Shankar
103KD KarthikB Aparajith
33KD KarthikB Indrajith
74R SathishKD Karthik