Final, Guangzhou, Oct 31 2012, Asian Cricket Council Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup
(19.1/20 ov, target 82)
IND Women won by 18 runs
Player Of The Match
India Women
• The Report by Jon Newton

India Women defend low score to take title

A determined effort from India in the field, after being bowled out for 81, led them to the Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup title in Guangzhou

Match centre 
Scorer: Sajan Nair
Commentator: Shahriar Khan
Scorecard summary
India Women81(20 overs)
Pakistan Women63(19.1 overs)

Terrific performance by India in the field, never gave Pakistan a sniff of a chance. Punam Raut my Player of the Match, an innings of class to retrieve India from two early losses and then a fine catch and an even better run-out.

Presentations and player comments to follow soon! India running a celebratory girdle around their hobbled captain Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami at the moment!

Mithali Raj: "So happy for the girls even though I'm disappointed not to have played because of my ankle. Winning this Asia Cup is a great achievement and what's been special is how our team has become like a family over the years, everyone contributes and plays for each other. The juniors came in and did well, it was good to expose them to international cricket and the junior teams, Thailand and Hong Kong, really bowled and fielded well and they can only improve the more they play the top teams. Eating in China's 'survival of the fittest!' but they've been great hosts and all the facilities have been great." Mithali says she'll be back to full fitness in 2-3 weeks, Jhulan Goswami around the same.

The players and officials are receiving their medals now....Pakistan's Bismah Maroof is Player of the Tournament.

Harmanpreet Kaur (acting captain) and Mithali Raj lift the trophy!

Thanks for being with us, its been surreal at times, cricket in China, but cricket's cricket wherever its played and India v Pakistan is as real as it gets.

From the indefatigable Sajan Nair and myself, goodbye from Guangzhou.

Niranjana to Mariam Hasan, OUT
in the blockhole, pushed to short mid-on, non-striker hares down only to be sent back and the throw comes in to the bowler who has all the time in the world to knock the stumps down and a lifetime remaining to celebrate. India win the inaugural ACC Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup!
Sadia Yousuf run out (Kaur/Niranjana) 0 (1b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00
end of over 193 runs • 1 wicket
PAK-W: 63/9CRR: 3.31 • RRR: 19.00 • Need 19 from 6b
Sadia Yousuf0 (1)
Mariam Hasan8 (9)
Ekta Bisht4-0-9-1
Archana Das4-0-12-2
Bisht to Sadia Yousuf, no run
Bisht to Batool Fatima, OUT
regulation outside edge to the perky 'keeper
Batool Fatima c †Naik b Bisht 1 (3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 33.33
Bisht to Mariam Hasan, 1 run
tapped to backward point
Bisht to Batool Fatima, 1 run
paddled to backward square
Bisht to Batool Fatima, no run
turn and bounce beats the attempted slog sweep
Bisht to Mariam Hasan, 1 run
swept, scampered single
end of over 183 runs • 1 wicket
PAK-W: 60/8CRR: 3.33 • RRR: 11.00 • Need 22 from 12b
Mariam Hasan6 (7)
Archana Das4-0-12-2
Reema Malhotra2-0-10-1
Das to Nain Abidi, OUT
down the wicket, zips through the gate
Nain Abidi st †Naik b Das 13 (19b 0x4 0x6) SR: 68.42
Das to Mariam Hasan, 1 run
flicked to mid-wicket
Das to Mariam Hasan, no run
Das to Nain Abidi, 1 run
driven in the air, one bounce to long on
Das to Mariam Hasan, 1 run
tossed up and worked to mid-on, scurry a single
Das to Mariam Hasan, no run
end of over 178 runs
PAK-W: 57/7CRR: 3.35 • RRR: 8.33 • Need 25 from 18b
Nain Abidi12 (17)
Mariam Hasan4 (3)
Reema Malhotra2-0-10-1
Archana Das3-0-9-1

India just turning the screws, very disciplined bowling performance by them

Malhotra to Nain Abidi, 2 runs
Dil-scooped, but It's been 50 balls since the last Pakistan boundary
Malhotra to Mariam Hasan, 3 runs
bounces off a length, takes the outside edge
Malhotra to Mariam Hasan, no run
Malhotra to Nain Abidi, 1 run
tossed up and swung over mid-on to long-on
Malhotra to Mariam Hasan, 1 run
swept off the stumps to deep square leg
Match details
Guanggong International Cricket Stadium
TossIndia Women , elected to bat first
SeriesAsian Cricket Council Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup 2012
Player Of The Match
Punam Raut
Player Of The Series
Bismah Maroof
Series resultIndia Women won the 2012/13 Asian Cricket Council Women's Twenty20 Asia Cup
Match numberWomen's T20I no. 186
Hours of play (local time)13.00 start, First Session 13.00-14.20, Interval 14.20-14.40, Second Session 14.40-16.00
Match days31 October 2012 (20-over match)
Buddhi Pradhan
Sarika Prasad
Reserve Umpire
Sun Jianxin
Match Referee
Aminul Islam