Kulkarni to Gupta, OUT, Mumbai win the Ranji Trophy for the 38th time, landing full outside off and he drives at it lazily to get an outside edge straight to first slip where Kukreja holds on this time. Dhawal has taken five and is now on par with Ravindra Jadeja to become the highest wicket-taker this Ranji season

P Gupta c sub (SO Kukreja) b Kulkarni 25 (41m 36b 5x4 0x6) SR: 69.44

Kulkarni to Singh, OUT, Dhawal's just one wicket away from becoming the highest-wicket taker in this tournament, full and wide, goes for the drive, gets a thick outside edge and Jaffer snaps it easily at first slip

RP Singh c Jaffer b Kulkarni 4 (7m 9b 1x4 0x6) SR: 44.44

Kulkarni to B Kumar, OUT, short of a good length outside off stump, tries to punch it off the back foot to cover, gets a thin edge straight to Samant who gets the nod from the umpire this time. UP are sliding now, with their top-scorer heading back to the pavilion. Replays indicate there may have been a gap between bat and ball, although there was certainly a deviation. Too close to call there but Bhuvneshwar did look disappointed at the decision.

B Kumar c †Samant b Kulkarni 80 (185m 132b 14x4 0x6) SR: 60.60

Powar to P Kumar, OUT, short and wide and Praveen just cuts that straight to point. Nayar makes no mistake

P Kumar c Nayar b Powar 0 (2m 3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00

Powar to Chawla, OUT, caught at slip! Tossed up on leg stump and spins away sharply, Chawla tries to open the face to guide that towards point, gets a thick outside edge and Jaffer takes a good low catch to his left

PP Chawla c Jaffer b Powar 3 (24m 18b 0x4 0x6) SR: 16.66

Powar to Kaif, OUT, gone, finally! Powar tosses that one up and it lands full on middle and off, Kaif is down the track and lofts it straight to Amol Muzumdar, the substitute fielder, at long-on. Failed to time it well there and got too much elevation on it

M Kaif c sub (AA Muzumdar) b Powar 72 (173m 124b 14x4 0x6) SR: 58.06

Agarkar to Parvinder Singh, OUT, 300th wicketkeeping dismissal for Vinayak Samant, good length outside off and swinging away, tries to defend it off the back foot, gets a thick outside edge that's snapped up well by Samant moving to his right

Parvinder Singh c †Samant b Agarkar 1 (6m 5b 0x4 0x6) SR: 20.00

Kulkarni to Raina, OUT, short outside off stump, Raina tries to cut that off the back foot, gets a thick outside edge and Tendulkar cups it easily at first slip

SK Raina c Tendulkar b Kulkarni 10 (41m 29b 2x4 0x6) SR: 34.48

Khan to Srivastava, OUT, gone! Bowled all ends up!! Lands full on middle and swings in towards leg, Srivastava tries to drive it wide of mid-on, misses, the ball clips the pads on its way to uprooting the off stump

TM Srivastava b Khan 7 (28m 19b 1x4 0x6) SR: 36.84

Kulkarni to Shukla, OUT, gone! What now? Full outside off, there to drive, Shukla comes forward and opens the face slightly to slice it straight to gully where Rohit takes a neat catch

SS Shukla c Sharma b Kulkarni 11 (22m 14b 1x4 0x6) SR: 78.57

  • Up close and jovial

    Sriram Veera watches the Ranji Trophy final come to end, from up close

  • Mumbai complete 38th title win

    Mumbai won their 38th Ranji Trophy title with about a session to spare on the final day

  • 'Now we know how to win'

    Uttar Pradesh will no doubt be heartbroken by the missed opportunity in this year's Ranji Trophy final, after suffering their second loss in successive finals. Captain Mohammad Kaif though believes it still is a very huge achievement nonetheless, a

  • 'There were no shortcuts'

    Praveen Amre never won the Ranji Trophy as a player, but in his three years as Mumbai's coach he has won the Ranji title twice. He shares Mumbai's journey to their 38th Ranji crown

  • Samant in the spotlight

    Wicketkeeper Vinayak Samant, pushed into opening by Amre in the final league game, scored his maiden ton to allow Mumbai have a firm grasp on their 38th title

U. Pradesh 4th innings Partnerships

1st20SS ShuklaTM Srivastava
2nd1SK RainaTM Srivastava
3rd32M KaifSK Raina
4th5M KaifParvinder Singh
5th112M KaifB Kumar
6th23PP ChawlaB Kumar
7th0P KumarB Kumar
8th24Amir KhanB Kumar
9th9RP SinghAmir Khan
10th55P GuptaAmir Khan