Final (D/N), Ahmedabad, Nov 25 2014, Vijay Hazare Trophy
(38.2/50 ov, target 360)
Karnataka won by 156 runs
• ESPNcricinfo staff

Karnataka defend title with ease

Karnataka's in-form batsmen racked up the state's highest score in List A history to set up a massive win over Punjab in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Match centre 
Scorer: Chandan Duorah
Scorecard summary
Karnataka359/7(50 overs)
Punjab203(38.2 overs)
end of over 390 runs • 1 wicket
PNJB: 203/10CRR: 5.29 • RRR: 13.45 • Need 157 from 11.4ov
Baltej Singh12 (3)
Abhimanyu Mithun6.2-0-37-3
Vinay Kumar7-0-39-1

Karnataka wins it by a huge margin and defends the Vijay Hazare title. It was scripted earlier in the afternoon by the batsmen and supported by the bowlers towards the end. Mandeep and Amitoze looked good and Punjab was right there in the game before Amitoze was run out, after that it was just the march-past. Mayank Agarwal named man of the match.That's all we had from this season, this is Chandan Duorah signing off, Good night. cheers!

Mithun to Sandeep Sharma, OUT
and its all over, that's short on middle and off, goes for the pull which skies towards the keeper. Uthappa runs forward and holds that. Chants and roars from the Karnataka players.
Sandeep Sharma c †Uthappa b Mithun 6 (8m 6b 1x4 0x6) SR: 100.00
Mithun to Sandeep Sharma, no run
back of a length which follows Sandeep as he backs away to leg side, pushes to point
end of over 3817 runs
PNJB: 203/9CRR: 5.34 • RRR: 13.08 • Need 157 from 11.4ov
Baltej Singh12 (3)
Sandeep Sharma6 (4)
Vinay Kumar7-0-39-1
Abhimanyu Mithun6-0-37-2
Vinay Kumar to Baltej Singh, FOUR runs
that's a full toss on middle and off, slaps it hard down the ground for another boundary, that's three in a row.
Vinay Kumar to Baltej Singh, FOUR runs
fuller in length and outside off, driven between the fielders at cover
Vinay Kumar to Baltej Singh, FOUR runs
that's on a length and driven uppishly over the mid-off region
Vinay Kumar to Sandeep Sharma, 1 run
another fuller length delivery outside off, pushes with an angle bat towards point
Vinay Kumar to Sandeep Sharma, no run
full and wide outside off, pushes it as he backs away to leg side
Vinay Kumar to Sandeep Sharma, FOUR runs
length delivery on off, slogs it to wide of mid-on, fall just short of the man
end of over 372 runs • 2 wicket
PNJB: 186/9CRR: 5.02 • RRR: 13.38 • Need 174 from 11.4ov
Sandeep Sharma1 (1)
Abhimanyu Mithun6-0-37-2
Vinay Kumar6-0-22-1
Mithun to Khera, OUT
Mithun roars as he knocks the stumps once again, jumps in the air and a punch. Karnataka almost sealed it with a wicket to go, that came in with the angle which was full on middle and off, Khera unable to get anything onto it and that woody sound always a treat to hear.
G Khera b Mithun 14 (44m 18b 1x4 0x6) SR: 77.77
Mithun to Khera, no run
once again kept it short as he gets behind the line to defend
Mithun to Khera, no run
slightly short around off, gets on the top of the bounce and defends
Mithun to Sandeep Sharma, 1 run
fuller on middle and leg, nudges it to the leg side
Mithun to Kaul, OUT
Mithun strikes straightaway, that came in with the angle and moves away touch with good bounce beating the edge which knocks the off stump.
S Kaul b Mithun 5 (22m 20b 0x4 0x6) SR: 25.00
Mithun to Khera, 1 run
back of a length on middle and leg, works it behind backward square leg

Mithun back into the attack

end of over 362 runs
PNJB: 184/7CRR: 5.11 • RRR: 12.57 • Need 176 from 11.4ov
Gitansh Khera13 (14)
Siddarth Kaul5 (19)
Vinay Kumar6-0-22-1
Stuart Binny10-0-62-2
Vinay Kumar to Khera, 1 run
pitches it up outside off, leans froward and drills it down to long-on
Vinay Kumar to Kaul, 1 run
fullish on middle and leg, driven uppishly over the bowler's head
Vinay Kumar to Kaul, no run
bangs it short outside off as Kaul drops his wrist and lets it go through
Vinay Kumar to Kaul, no run
full and just around off stump, pushes it to short cover region
Match details
Sardar Patel (Gujarat) Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
TossPunjab , elected to field first
SeriesVijay Hazare Trophy 2014
Series resultKarnataka won the 2014/15 Vijay Hazare Trophy
Hours of play (local time)14.30 start, Lunch 18.00-18.45, Close 22:15
Match days25 November 2014 - day/night match (50-over match)
List A debut
Jagadeesha Suchith
Anil Chaudhary
Nitin Menon
TV Umpire
Nand Kishore
Match Referee
Chinmay Sharma