Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Johnson, Vishaul, Permaul star in Guyana's innings win

Guyana 484 for 8 dec (Johnson 165, Vishaul 100, Charles 5-134) beat Trinidad & Tobago 120 (Jangoo 39, Permaul 4-43, Motie 4-46) and 147 (St Clair 28, Permaul 5-54, Paul 4-26) by an innings and 217 runs

Centuries from Leon Johnson and Vishaul Singh, along with Veerasammy Permaul's nine wickets in the match, steered Guyana to an innings-and-217-run victory over Trinidad & Tobago in Port of Spain. The victory bolstered Guyana's position at the top of the table, with three wins from four games.

Tagenarine Chanderpau gave Guyana a good start with 85 off 235 balls, his fifth first-class fifty, and shared a 174-run second-wicket stand with Johnson, who played out 360 deliveries for his 165. After Chanderpaul's dismissal, Vishaul scored his ninth first-class century, 100 off 211 balls. They hit a total of 25 fours between them before Bryan Charles - who bagged a five-for - dismissed them both in the 140th over. Guyana slumped from 390 for 2 to 445 for 8, before Permaul and Gudakesh Motie stitched together an unbeaten 39-run stand for the ninth wicket to help the side declare on 484 for 8.

T&T slumped to 120 all out as Permaul and Motie ran through the side with their left-arm spin, taking four wickets each. This was after fast bowler Keon Joseph had dismissed opener Amir Jangoo and No. 3 Yannic Cariah in successive overs, following T&T's opening partnership of 66.

Guyana enforced the follow-on and T&T were only marginally better in the second innings. Permaul was once again the chief wicket-taker, with 5 for 54. Fast bowler Keemo Paul also stepped up for Guyana, taking 4 for 26. Paul accounted for four of the first six T&T wickets, leaving them reeling at 62 for 6. T&T's top scores were knocks of 28 from Imran Khan and Daniel St Clair, with captain Denesh Ramdin unbeaten on 22.

Trinidad & T 3rd innings Partnerships

1st5KA HopeAA Jangoo
2nd34Y CariahAA Jangoo
3rd8JN MohammedAA Jangoo
4th9JN MohammedT Webster
5th0JN MohammedRS Primus
6th6I KhanJN Mohammed
7th50I KhanD St Clair
8th11D RamdinI Khan
9th15D RamdinBNL Charles
10th9D RamdinSS Cottrell

WICB Professional Cricket League Regional 4 Day Tournament