260 The previous highest total in T20Is, by Sri Lanka against Kenya in the 2007 World T20. Australia bettered it with 263 for 3 in this match. Australia's total is also the joint highest in all T20s, equalling the 263 for 5 scored by Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2013.

1 Individual score in T20Is higher than Glenn Maxwell's unbeaten 145. Aaron Finch holds the record for the highest individual score in the format, with 156 against England in Southampton in 2013. Maxwell's knock was the third century by an Australia batsman and all three innings rank among the top three individual scores in T20Is.

85 Margin of defeat for Sri Lanka - their biggest in T20Is. Their previous biggest defeat was also against Australia when they lost by 81 runs in Bridgetown in the 2010 World T20. This was Australia's first T20 win against Sri Lanka in T20Is since then and only their third overall in nine games.

12 T20Is lost by Sri Lanka this year, the joint most by any team in a calendar year. Pakistan also had lost 12 games in 2010 of their 18 matches compared to 15 for Sri Lanka.

3 T20I centuries in Pallekele - the most at any venue. Before Maxwell, Tillakaratne Dilshan had made an unbeaten 104 against Australia in 2011 at the ground and Brendon McCullum scored 123 against Bangladesh in the 2012 World T20. The venues with two T20I centuries are Johannesburg, Dharamsala and Lauderhill.

96 Previous highest score by a batsman in his maiden innings as an opener in T20Is, by Damien Martyn against South Africa in Brisbane in January 2006. Maxwell became the first batsman to score a century in his maiden T20I innings as an opener.

9 Sixes hit by Maxwell - second-most by an Australia batsman. Finch hit the most sixes - 14 - during his 156. Maxwell's nine sixes are the most by a batsman against Sri Lanka, surpassing Colin Munro's seven sixes earlier this year.

3 Instances when a team has had partnerships of 50 or more for each of the first three wickets in a T20I, including this game. India, the only other team to do so apart from Australia, have done this in two matches - against Sri Lanka in Mohali in December 2009 and against West Indies at Wankhede Stadium during the World T20 semi-final earlier this year.

153 Innings taken by Maxwell to score his maiden T20 century, the third most by a batsman. Virat Kohli scored his first T20 century after 181 innings, in IPL 2016, while Andre Russell notched up his maiden ton in this year's CPL after 180 T20 innings.

2010 Last time both the Australia opening bowlers took three-wicket hauls in a T20I, against India in the World T20. This was the fourth such instance for Australia, three of those came in 2010.