Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy (named after KS Duleepsinhji) was started by the Indian board in 1961-62 as a zonal rather than a state first-class competition. The original format was that five teams, drawn from the five zones - North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone - played each other on a knock-out basis. From 1993-94 the competition converted to a league format. In 2002-03 the zonal teams were replaced by five new sides - Elite A, Elite B, Elite C, Plate A and Plate B but this lasted for only one season as it was felt that the new teams lacked a sense of identity. From 2003-04 the zones returned and an overseas guest side was included. The first was England A.