The Irani Trophy was conceived during the 1959-60 season to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy and sees the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners take on a Rest of India side. The competition was named after the late Zal Irani, who was associated with the Indian board from its inception in 1928 until his death in 1970. It was initially played at the end of the season but in 1965-66 it was switched and now heralds the start of the new domestic season.