Rohit, Parthiv to captain Deodhar Trophy teams

Rohit Sharma plays a cut Getty Images

Rohit Sharma and Parthiv Patel have been chosen to lead the India Blue and India Red teams, respectively, in the Deodhar Trophy scheduled to begin on March 25. Tamil Nadu were the third team in the tournament, having clinched the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday.

Rohit returned to competitive cricket earlier this month - with scores of 16 and 4 for Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy - following a thigh injury that had sidelined him for four months. He had sustained the injury in the series-deciding fifth ODI against New Zealand in October 2016, when he top-scored with 70.

The other notable players in the India Blue roster were batsman Shreyas Iyer, offspinner Harbhajan Singh, left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem and 19-year old wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant.

Rohit's long-term opening partner in ODIs, Shikhar Dhawan, was part of the India Red squad, which also featured Kedar Jadhav, who had made 232 runs in three ODIs against England in January, and Manish Pandey, who had also played his last international game in that series-decider against New Zealand.

The tournament is set to begin on March 25, with the final scheduled for March 29. All matches will be played in Vizag.