3 Teams holding series titles against all other Test sides at the same point of time. India, with this series win, hold trophies against all Test teams. The first two teams to achieve this were Australia and South Africa. Australia managed this feat first time when they won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2004-05 in India and again after winning the Ashes 2006-07. South Africa achieved it after they won in Australia in 2012-13.

4 Instances of India going on to win a series after losing the first Test. Two of those have been against Australia - this series and the 2000-01 Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The other two were: against England in 1972-73 and in Sri Lanka in 2015. The series result was 2-1 in all these cases. The last time Australia lost a series after winning the first match was in the 2005 Ashes. Click here for all teams winning a series by coming from behind.

4 Consecutive series wins for India against Australia at home, since losing the 2004-05 series. India have lost only once to Australia in the last 10 series at home.

4 Consecutive series defeats for Australia in Asia. Before this, they lost the 2012-13 series in India, in 2014-15 in the UAE and in 2016 in Sri Lanka. In those three series, though, they had lost all the nine Tests played, compared to this series in which they won one and drew one. Before these four series, they won five of their previous seven series in the subcontinent; the two they lost in that period were both in India.

10 Wins for India in the 2016-17 season, the joint second-most by any team in a season. Australia had won 11 out of 12 in the 2005-06 season and 10 in 10 in 1999-00. The previous most wins for India were five each in 2004-05, 2009-10 and 2012-13.

1982 The last time an India batsman scored six or more 50-plus scores in a Test series, before KL Rahul in this series. Mohinder Amarnath against West Indies in 1982-83 was the last to do so. Only Sunil Gavaskar, in his debut series in 1970-71 in the West Indies, has had a longer such run for India. The last batsman to do this against Australia was Graham Gooch in the Ashes in 1993.

3 Man-of-the-Match awards for Ravindra Jadeja this season - the joint-most for India. Virat Kohli also got three such awards. No one else got more than one. But Jadeja is the only one to receive one such award in each of the three major series - against New Zealand, England and Australia. This was Jadeja's fifth Man of the Match award and maiden Man of the Series award.

2 Number of batsmen to score more 50-plus scores in a four-match series than Rahul's six. Patsy Hendren did it in the West Indies in 1929-30 and Gavaskar in 1970-71. They batted eight innings to Rahul's seven.

140.74 Ajinkya Rahane's strike rate in his unbeaten 27-ball 38 - his highest in any Test innings. His scoring rate is also the second-highest for an India batsman in the fourth innings of a Test batting 25 balls or more.

2 Number of Steven Smith's centuries that have come in losing cause in Tests. Both have come in the last Tests of the series - in Sri Lanka last year and in this match. Out of his 20 centuries, Australia have won on 13 occasions and five have been drawn.