The 2016 Bangladesh Cricket League first-class competition will begin on January 12, according to BCB's tournament committee chairman Akram Khan. The four zonal teams - North, South, East and Central - will play in a home-and-away basis. The table toppers at the completion of the league stage will be eventually declared as the champions.

"The BCL will be in double-league basis so there won't be a final match like in previous years," Akram said.

With the major ventures set to host the Under-19 World Cup, Bogra and Rajshahi will provide the setting for the competition, which will run till the end of February. Akram said that national players could join the BCL teams if they wanted match practice.

"Since most of our venues are going to be busy, Bogra and Rajshahi will host the BCL matches. The top 80-90 cricketers in Bangladesh will take part," Akram said. "The national players will be busy in the T20 camp but if the coach or team management feel a batsman or bowler needs match practice, they can be played in the BCL after consultation with the teams."

Akram also said that the BCB were on the lookout for a franchise owner for North Zone, which has been run by the board. On the other hand, the other three sides have Walton (Central), Prime Bank (South) and Islami Bank (East) as franchise owners. South Zone are the defending champions of the BCL, having finished with 44 points in the previous season.