Vidarbha eye win after Assam capitulate

Vidarbha 154 and 88 for 0 (Jaffer 43*, Fazal 38*) need another 125 runs to beat Assam 206 and 160 (Purkayastha 35, Verma 38, Sarvate 6-64, Wakhare 4-37)

Vidarbha, currently scraping the bottom of the group, were in line to register their first outright win this season after debutant left-arm spinner Aditya Sarvate (6 for 64) and offspinner Akshay Wakhare (4 for 37) bundled Assam out for 160 in the second innings in Nagpur to set up a chase of 213. As many as five Assam batsmen got into double figures, but Swarupam Purkayastha's 35 ended up the highest score to round off a disappointing performance.

Wasim Jaffer, who has just one fifty from six innings this season, was unbeaten on 43, while Faiz Fazal made 38 to take Vidarbha to stumps on 88 without loss. Given they still have the experience of Ganesh Satish and S Badrinath, the captain, Vidarbha will fancy their chances of polishing off the 125 runs they need to move into the top half of the group standings.

Karnataka 221 and 9 for 0 need another 364 runs to beat Haryana 331 and 262 for 9 (Saini 52, Sehwag 40, Bishnoi 33, Gopal 4-53, Vinay 2-56)

Vital contributions from Haryana's top seven in the second innings ensured they were in with a chance to break Karnataka's 33-match unbeaten streak in Mysore. Robin Uthappa and KL Rahul saw off six tense overs to take the hosts to 9 for 0 at stumps, but are still well adrift of their target of 373 going into the final day.

After pocketing a 110-run lead, Haryana declared their second innings on 262 for 9, with Nitin Saini top-scoring with 52. Virender Sehwag, who walked in to bat at No. 7, set pulses racing with a 36-ball 40 to follow his swashbuckling 136 in the first innings to add some lower order impetus. After going wicketless in 16 overs in the first innings, legspinner Shreyas Gopal was rewarded for his persistence as he finished with figures of 4 for 53, while Vinay Kumar, the captain, and David Mathias had two scalps apiece.

Bengal 357 and 46 for 3 (Manoj Tiwary 21*, Manan Sharma 2-15) lead Delhi 249 (Milind 77, Rana 43, Pragyan Ojha 4-77, Dinda 3-59) by 154 runs

Bengal took the first-innings lead over Delhi at Feroz Shah Kotla, but a lot of attention was deflected towards a reported on-field altercation between Gautam Gambhir and Manoj Tiwary, the two captains.

Delhi, who resumed on 100 for 3, were bowled out for 249, with Milind Kumar top-scoring with 77. Delhi's only semblance of resistance came when Milind and Nitish Rana, who made 43, shared a 67-run fourth-wicket stand.

Pragyan Ojha, who moved to Bengal in order to play in the top drawer of the Ranji Trophy, enhanced his credentials. He finished with figures of 4 for 77 off 27 overs. Ashok Dinda, the pace spearhead, had three scalps. Bengal, who would have hoped to drive the game forward in their second dig, lost their top three with just 29 on the board. Manoj Tiwary was unbeaten on 21, with their lead standing at 155 with one day to play.

Rajasthan v Maharashtra - Maharashtra take lead with Tripathi ton