Railways lose 15 wickets, stare at innings defeat

Siddarth Kaul was Punjab's most successful bowler ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Railways 196 (Ashish Singh 90, Wakaskar 69, Sran 6-61, Kaul 4-53) & 125 for 5 (f/o) (Awasthi 44, Khanna 5-51) trail Punjab 604 for 5 dec by 283 runs

Railways lost 15 wickets on the third day in Mohali, and were in serious danger of an innings defeat after being asked to follow on. While Punjab's seam-bowling pair of Brainder Sran and Siddarth Kaul accounted for all the batsmen in the first innings, left-arm spinner Varun Khanna picked up each of the five wickets to fall in the second.

Resuming the day on 14 for 0, Railways didn't lose a wicket until the 37th over of the day, as Ashish Singh and Saurabh Wakaskar raised 150 runs for the opening wicket. The visitors' slide began when left-armer Sran had Wakaskar and Rohan Bhosale trapped lbw in successive deliveries. Two overs later, Sran dismissed captain Mahesh Rawat and Arindam Ghosh in the space of two deliveries to reduce Railways to 153 for 4. Kaul then had Ashish lbw, and thereon Railways lost their last five wickets for 29 runs in 6.3 overs.

Following on, Railways lost Wakaskar in the seventh over after Khanna had him caught behind. Having slid to 54 for 3, the visitors were partially revived by a 62-run alliance between Prashant Awasthi and Arindam Ghosh before Khanna had Awasthi and Rawat caught behind off successive deliveries.

Madhya Pradesh 234 for 3 (Shrivastava 99*, N Ojha 88) trail Uttar Pradesh 686 for 7 dec by 452 runs

Half-centuries from opener Aditya Shrivastava and Naman Ojha helped Madhya Pradesh muster a solid response in Moradabad after Uttar Pradesh declared their first innings on 684.

The visitors, though, were dealt with a blow early on, as seamer Ankit Rajpoot bowled Jalaj Saxena in the sixth over. Udit Birla (32) and Shrivastava attempted to patiently rebuild the innings, putting on 65 in 32 overs. Rajput, however, trapped Birla lbw to end his 82-ball effort. Shrivastava and Naman Ojha then joined hands to raise 157 runs in 44 overs before Ojha, whose innings included eight fours and three sixes, was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav off what eventually turned out to be the last ball of the day. Shrivastava remained unbeaten on 99 off 254 balls.

In the morning, Uttar Pradesh declared after 5.1 overs, adding 30 runs to their overnight total.

Mumbai 158 for 5 (Lad 63*) trail Andhra Pradesh 244 (Bhui 103, Kaif 90, Sandhu 5-53, Thakur 3-47) by 86 runs

Siddhesh Lad's unbeaten half-century held Mumbai's reply together after seamer Balwinder Sandhu's five-for triggered Andhra Pradesh's collapse in their first innings in Vizianagaram.

Coming in at 61 for 4, Lad, whose innings included 10 fours and a six, added 97 runs with Nikhil Patil, who knuckled down for a 110-ball 27. Patil, however, was bowled by CV Stepen, who had earlier dismissed captain Aditya Tare for a duck, with 14 balls to go for stumps.

In the morning, Andhra Pradesh, resuming on 213 for 4, scored only 31 more runs before folding up. Captain Mohammad Kaif added one run to his overnight score of 89 before being dismissed by Sandhu off the seventh ball of the day. During the course of the next five overs they slipped from 214 for 4 to 218 for 8, before B Ayyappa and KV Harish put on 22 runs for the ninth wicket. Seamer Shardul Thakur supported Sandhu's efforts with three wickets.

Tamil Nadu v Baroda in Chennai - Rahil Shah seals thrilling win for TN