Bangladesh have recalled offspinner Sohag Gazi for the two-match Twenty20 series against South Africa, which starts on July 5. This is his first call-up since his bowling action was cleared by the ICC in February this year.

Rubel Hossain and Jubair Hossain have also been included for the two matches. Gazi, Jubair and Rubel replaced Mahmudullah, Taskin Ahmed and Abul Hasan who were part of Bangladesh's last T20 squad, against Pakistan in April this year. Rubel and Jubair were also a part of the ODI squad for the series against India last month.

Gazi's last international match was in August last year, before he was suspended for an illegal action in October. He played most of the 2014-15 domestic season, taking 37 wickets at an average of 37.94 in nine first-class matches, and 17 List A wickets. He also scored two centuries and two fifties.

Faruque Ahmed, Bangladesh's chief selector, said Gazi was picked to fill the role of a specialist offspinner in the side.

"We wanted a specialist offspinner so we picked Sohag Gazi. He has been out for a while now, but now he is back with a new action," Faruque told ESPNcricinfo.

Jubair earned his first call-up in Bangladesh's T20 side, although he hasn't played any recognised T20 matches in his short domestic career.

Mahmudullah is still recovering from a finger injury that ruled him out of the Test and ODIs against India last month, while Taskin is out with a left side tear. Faruque said that Mahmudullah had not "sufficiently recovered" from the injury. Abul Hasan only played the first ODI against Pakistan, going wicketless, and hasn't played for Bangladesh since.

Bangladesh T20 squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das, Rony Talukdar, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan (vice-capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

BCB XI squad for practice match: Imrul Kayes (capt), Anamul Haque (wk), Rony Talukdar, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudul Hasan, Saikat Ali, Shuvagata Hom, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Al-Amin Hossain, Abul Hasan, Kamrul Islam Rabbi