Matthew Mott has been named as the new head coach of the Australia women's team, replacing Cathryn Fitzpatrick, who stepped down earlier this month.

A former batsman with Queensland and Victoria, Mott coached New South Wales to a Sheffield Shield triumph in 2007-08 and has also coached Glamorgan and been an assistant with the Kolkata Knight Riders, Sydney Sixers and with Ireland during this year's World Cup. Mott has been appointed for the next three years and faces the challenge of helping the side regain the Ashes this year.

"I'm really excited about this great opportunity to work with such a fine group of players," Mott said. "It really is an exciting time for women's cricket in Australia, so to have the chance to build on the team's already impressive playing record is something I'm looking forward to, particularly as we head into the 2015 Women's Ashes series.

Pat Howard, the general manager of team performance with Cricket Australia, said Mott's experience across a number of countries and formats held him in good stead for the role.

"The next three years are very important for the team, and Matthew has signed on to guide them through the 2015 Women's Ashes, the 2016 ICC Women's World Twenty20 and the 2017 ICC Women's World Cup," Howard said. "We have great confidence in Matthew as he works to help the group win back the Women's Ashes and maintain its place as the top team in the women's game."

Cricket Australia has also announced the 18 contracted women's players for the 2015-16 season, with all 16 contracted players from last year retained and two more added. Julie Savage, the Women's National Selection Panel chair, said the two new additions - Beth Mooney and Grace Harris - would be valuable inclusions.

"Beth is the Queensland Fire wicketkeeper and joins the squad to bolster the keeping depth," Savage said. "She is also an accomplished batter as evidenced by her two centuries on the recent Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars tour of Sri Lanka.

"Grace is a powerful striker of the ball who has had some impressive innings for Queensland, particularly in the T20 format. She has also been effective for the Fire with her off-spin and enjoyed success with the ball in Sri Lanka."

Contract list Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Nicole Bolton, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani.