Pankaj, Chahar put Rajasthan on top

Delhi 240 for 4 (Gambhir 93*, Sehwag 66) trail Maharashtra 330 (Gugale 174, Khurana 55, Awana 3-37) by 90 runs

Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag made half-centuries to lead Delhi's reply to Maharashtra's 330 in Pune. The pair put on 102 for the third wicket to revive Delhi from 41 for 2, which included the wicket of Unmukt Chand for 1. Sehwag hit seven fours in his 66 off 88 while Gambhir went to stumps unbeaten on 93. The Delhi captain faced 217 balls and struck seven fours and a six. Delhi had another scare when they lost Sehwag and Mithun Manhas in the space of two overs to be reduced to 149 for 4 but Rajat Bhatia came in and made an unbeaten 43 to support his captain. Gambhir and Bhatia shared an unbroken stand of 91 for the fifth wicket as Delhi ended on 240 for 4.

Sumit Narwal and Parvinder Awana had earlier split the remaining four Maharashtra wickets to dismiss the hosts 8.1 overs into the morning. Maharashtra began the day on 312 for 6 and Awana had Chirag Khurana caught behind on his overnight score of 55 with his third ball of the day. Shrikant Mundhe moved from 16 to 32 before he went the same way to Narwal.

Odisha 144 for 9 (Sarangi 47, Pankaj 4-47, Chahar 3-30) trail Rajasthan 305 (Saxena 106, Chahar 57*, C Bist 51, Mohanty 4-68) by 161 runs

Deepak Chahar and Pankaj Singh made useful contributions down the order and then took seven wickets between them to reduce Odisha to 144 for 9. Rajasthan began the day on 191 for 5 and were soon down to 229 for 8. Chetan Bist went without adding to his overnight 51 and Vineet Saxena moved from 87 to 106 before being bowled to become Basant Mohanty's fourth wicket. Pankaj came out and cracked a run-a-ball 27. Chahar outid his senior new-ball partner, crashing six sixes to make an unbeaten 57 off 55. Both seamers then ripped through Odisha, with Anurag Sarangi (47) the only batsman to go past 20. Pankaj took 4 for 47 while Chahar claimed 3 for 30.

Vidarbha 236 and 39 for 1 lead Gujarat 248 (Juneja 75, Wakhare 6-92) by 27 runs

Offspinner Akshay Wakhare took six wickets but hosts Gujarat managed to sneak a 12-run first-innings lead over Vidarbha in Surat. Gujarat were 71 for 1 at one stage but Wakhare took five successive wickets to reduce them to 158 for 7 before Manpreet Juneja made 75 to push the total to just short of 250. Juneja and Rush Kalaria (32) added 65 for the eighth wicket. Juneja struck 12 fours and was last man out, becoming Rakesh Dhurv's third victim. Wakhare finished with figures of 34-11-92-6. Vidarbha lost Sachin Katariya early before Faiz Fazal and Ganesh Satish took them to 39 for 1.

Saurashtra 238 and 162 for 3 (Jackson 56*, Jaydev 55*) lead Haryana 226 (Jayant 97, Makvana 6-87, Jadeja 4-80) by 174 runs

The Saurashtra spin pair of Kamlesh Makvana and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja dismissed Haryana for 226 to give their side a slender lead in Rajkot. Half-centuries from Sheldon Jackson and Jaydev Shah built that lead to 174 by stumps with seven wickets remaining. Haryana were reeling on 98 for 5 before Nitin Saini counterattacked with 45 off 37. Saini added 93 with Jayant Yadav, who top-scored for his side with 97. Makvana got rid of both batsmen and Jadeja took care of the tail. Makvana finished with 6 for 87 while Jadeja had 4 for 80. Saurashtra were in trouble on 69 for 3 when Cheteshwar Pujara fell for 23 but Jackson and Jaydev added an unbeaten 93 to strengthen the hosts' position.