Shakib, Tamim set for comeback

Tamim Iqbal hooks a short delivery Associated Press

Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal are set to make their comebacks from injury during the Victory Day T20 competition after missing matches during New Zealand's tour of Bangladesh. Shakib suffered from dengue fever last month, for which he missed the limited-overs leg of the series, while Tamim missed the last ODI due to a lower abdominal injury. Both players have been named captains of their respective teams.

Robiul Islam is the third player who is making a comeback after more than a month having recovered from a quadriceps injury. Masharafe Mortaza and Mushfiqur Rahim are captains of the other two teams.

It will be yet another chance for the Bangladesh team management to find out the contenders for the T20 side. Sabbir Rahman, Farhad Reza and Mohammad Mithun have done well in the T20 Challenge Cup played between Bangladesh and Bangladesh A. It could also be the last chance for Mahmudullah and Naeem Islam to establish themselves in the side with quick runs.

Nasir Hossain has been given a leave from the tournament to attend his brother's wedding. Abdur Razzak will also miss out due to personal commitment while Shamsur Rahman has not recovered sufficiently from an ankle injury. They have been replaced by Sharifullah and Naeem Islam jnr.

Four Dhaka Premier League teams will take part in a lottery to determine who picks one each of the Yellow, Blue, Green and Red teams. The T20 tournament is likely to begin in Sylhet on December 22. The lottery will take place on Friday in Mirpur where BCB president Nazmul Hassan will hold a press conference to confirm details.

Yellow team: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Junaid Siddique, Jahurul Islam, Mizanur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Shahriar Nafees, Raqibul Hasan, Taibur Rahman, Elias Sunny, Saqlain Sajib, Dewan Sabbir, Sajidul Islam, Alauddin Babu, Nurul Hasan

Blue team: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Anamul Haque, Saikat Ali, Liton Kumar Das, Sabbir Rahman, Mehrab Hossain jnr, Alok Kapali, Sohag Gazi, Taizul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Tapash Baisya, Robiul Islam, Mohammad Sharif

Green team: Tamim Iqbal (capt), Imrul Kayes, Abdul Majid, Naeem Islam, Marshall Ayub, Rony Talukdar, Jubair Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Enamul Haque jnr, Al-Amin Hossain, Mohammad Shahid, Delwar Hossain, Muktar Ali, Mohammad Mithun

Red team: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Shamsur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Nafis Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Aftab Ahmed, Abdur Razzak, Nazmul Hossain Milon, Farhad Reza, Shuvashis Roy, Nabil Shamad, Ziaur Rahman, Shurawadi Shuvo, Mehedy Maruf