SNGPL gallop to ten-wicket victory

Group A

United Bank Limited suffered their second straight defeat, losing to Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) by six wickets at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The contest was a low-scoring one with KRL opting to bowl first and restricting UBL to 125 for 6. Mohammad Yasin (37), Saeed Anwar Junior (31) and Naved Yasin's quick-fire 31 off 14 balls set up a straightforward victory. Earlier, Kashif Bhatti and Khaqan Arsal shared a 41-run stand for the sixth wicket to help UBL to post a middling total. Fast bowlers Yasir Arafat (2-24) and Yasir Ali (1-13) were the pick of the KRL bowlers.

Pakistan International Airlines chased down their target of 152 against National Bank of Pakistan with a ball to spare to record a six-wicket win, their second of the tournament. Needing 11 off the final over, PIA benefitted from a missed stumping from Kamran Akmal and completed the victory. Though Sarfraz Ahmed (59) and Fahad Iqbal (27) fell while there was still much left to do in the chase, Shoaib Malik scored an unbeaten 24 off 21 to steer the chase. Batting first, NBP had suffered a sloppy start, losing their openers with the score on 12. A 95-run stand between Aqeel Anjum (60) and Fawad Alam (64*) helped NBP reach 151 for 5.

Zohaib Ahmed's all-round performance led Pakistan Television to a four-wicket victory over State Bank of Pakistan at Lahore City Cricket Association Ground. Opting to bat first, SBP began positively, with the captain Kashif Siddiq smacking five fours and three sixes in his 21-ball 43. Usman Saeed added an unbeaten 39 off 36 balls as SBP finished on 142 for 4. Zohaib was the pick of the bowlers with his 2 for 28. PTV's chase started off rather shakily as they lost their first three wickets for just 12 runs. Zeeshan Mushtaq (28) and Mohammad Sami (47) added 38 for the fourth wicket, before Zohaib (35) joined forces with Sami to add a further 59. Yasim Murtaza weighed in with some late blows in his 10-ball 19, and Zohaib and Naeem Anjum took PTV to victory with four balls to spare.

Group B

Port Qasim Authority crumbled to 86, which was overhauled by Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited by ten wickets in 12.1 overs at Lahore City Cricket Association Ground. Asked to bat first, PQA lost their first five wickets for just 32 runs in five overs, with Samiullah Khan picking up 3 for 12 in his economical four-over spell. Shahzaib Hasan (10), Kamran Younis (11) and Mohammad Waqas (31) were the only batsmen that scored in double figures, while the remaining eight batsmen compiled a total of just 14 runs. SNGPL, got off to a solid start in reply, as Taufeeq Umar (39) and Mohammad Rizwan (41) chased down the target swiftly to register their first victory of the tournament, after losing their opening match to ZTBL.

Unbeaten forties from Yasir Hameed and Haris Sohail ensured Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited beat Habib Bank Limited by eight wickets at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Habib Bank batted first, but were unable to string together useful partnerships as seamers Usman Khan and Mohammad Khalil took six wickets between them to keep Habib Bank to just 149 for 7. Shan Masod and Younis Khan added 34 and 33 respectively, before Hasan Raza capped it off with his 25. Khalil had best figures of 4 for 19. In reply, ZTBL started positively, with the openers putting on 34. Yasir Hameed, coming in at No. 3, helped add a further 38 runs. Once Haris Sohail joined him at the crease, it was all ZTBL would need as the two batsmen kept pace with the required rate to finish off the match with eight wickets in hand, and four balls still left in the kitty.